What did I do wrong?

By sirjorj, in Legends of the Alliance

I have been playing X-wing for over 2 years and have at least one of every expansion. I have declined to try other FFG Star Wars games because I still have a lot to get out of my X-wing stuff. I did get Fallout and have enjoyed it, but that game is definitely less of a commitment then one with dozens of expansions (though I am hoping for a Nuka-World add-on).

Anyway, this weekend the new local game store had a reopening (they moved to a larger spot) and I figured I would help celebrate by getting a starter set for a new FFG SW game. I spent quite a bit of time staring at the options:

• Armada - I am very interested in it but like x-wing, the out-of-the-box experience is probably pretty limited and they didn't have any expansions for sale.
  • IA - I have played a game of Descent so I kind of know the mechanics, and the iPad app sounded really cool. A casual friendly co-op game sounds like a fun diversion from x-wing.
  • Legion - I don't want to assemble and paint miniatures... yet...
  • Rebellion - I like the non-commitment part as there is only one expansion, but I've heard that it takes a while to get the hang of this game.

I ultimately took IA home (along with a lot of card sleeves), and after spending some time going through the stuff, reading the tutorial mission, and giving the app a try, I gotta admit - I am regretting this decision.