What elevation is this?

By Zrob314, in Rules

First off the range ruler is flush with the table (sorry, thought I had that in the shot), assume the three hexagonal containers are one piece of terrain. What elevation is the stormtrooper standing at (he began his movement on the ground)?

Also:

Range 1: 6"

Range 2: 12"

Range 3: 18"

Range 4: 24" (don't believe me? Go grab a tape measure and see for yourself)

H7wudAz.jpg

I pose that the stormtrooper at elevation 0. If he began his movement not in base contact with the terrain piece then he would treat it as difficult terrain, but if he began it at base contact then he could do a full range two movement without a climb/clamber roll.

Under Height on page 29 of the RRG it says

*To measure an object’s height, a player places the end of the range ruler flat on the battlefield’s surface as close to the object as possible; the range ruler should be oriented vertically. The segment of the range ruler that the top of the object is at is equal to that object’s height

*If the top of the object meets the line between two range ruler segments without crossing that line, that object’s height is equal to the lower range segment that the line separates. Otherwise, the height of the object is equal to the higher range segment that the line separates.

So, this object does not reach the top of the range 1 rulers. Therefore is is the height of the lower segment which would be height or elevation 0, the same as standing on the mat.

If I am incorrect then I have the following follow up questions:

Where does height/elevation 1 begin?

We know that elevation 2 begins at >12" Doesn't that mean that elevation one begins at >6"?

If it does not then does it begin at >1/8" (the approximate depth of figure base?

If so, then if I make a price of terrain that is a trench, or a single stair (I mean like a normal stair like you climb every day) does that mean I have to do a whole 2move action to get onto that?

Edited by Zrob314

No, up to 1 segment is height 1.

That is explained on page 10 of the RRG. You only have to climb if terrain is impassable, and must be in base contact when starting the move (climb) action.

Edited by Derrault
Typo

Height 1.

If a piece of terrain is 4" tall and you measure it with the range ruler, you will find that the top of the object is "at" the first segment of the range ruler, or "segment 1". That makes it height 1. If an object is 7" tall, when you hold the range ruler next to it then the top of the object is at the second segment or "segment 2", therefore the 7" object is height 2. There is no zeroth segment of the range ruler- notice that none of the weapon ranges reference "range 0", there is "melee", "range 1", "range 2", "range 3", "range 4", and "beyond range 4".

As to your last question, if you look at the rules for climbing and clambering, it says "When a unit clambers to move up or down ladders, steps, or carved footholds, it does not roll dice or suffer wounds. Players should define these areas of the battlefield in Step 2 of setup."

Edited by ShadowKite
spelling

And for completeness, regarding a trench or a single stair, see pg. 18 of the Rule Reference, which includes these points:

"A unit does not have to climb or clamber to move over or onto terrain that has a height that is equal to or less than the height of its unit leader’s mini. For example, a Stormtrooper unit can move over a barricade by performing a standard move. However, the unit will reduce its maximum speed by one because the barricade is difficult terrain for trooper units."

"A unit does not have to climb or clamber to move up a gradual slope such as a hill. As a general rule, if a miniature can be placed on a slope without falling over, units can move up that slope by performing a standard move. Players should clearly define terrain during setup."

4 hours ago, ShadowKite said:

And for completeness, regarding a trench or a single stair, see pg. 18 of the Rule Reference, which includes these points:

"A unit does not have to climb or clamber to move over or onto terrain that has a height that is equal to or less than the height of its unit leader’s mini. For example, a Stormtrooper unit can move over a barricade by performing a standard move. However, the unit will reduce its maximum speed by one because the barricade is difficult terrain for trooper units."

"A unit does not have to climb or clamber to move up a gradual slope such as a hill. As a general rule, if a miniature can be placed on a slope without falling over, units can move up that slope by performing a standard move. Players should clearly define terrain during setup."

Thank you, this is what was tripping me up and unclear/left out in the page 29 section.

Happy to help :)