How I learned to stop worrying and love A:NR..

By xo_rocinante, in Android: Netrunner The Card Game

Hi guys!

I guess this is my first post on this section of the official forums. So.. yes, I am a newb! :lol:

It's funny though - it has to be about 4-5 years ago when I've bought the old core set and the first two cycles plus some deluxe expansions all at once. I had to do it.. it was a really good deal for the complete package. Then weeks and months passed.. and I've neither had the time nor the courage to bring it to the table and learn the freaking game. It was overwhelming. All the rules and the special terms for already known things like the discard pile or your hand. Man! So. many. things. to. learn. I've read the rule book a couple of times and couldn't get it into my head. Then I've watched a video tutorial by Nam Ngo on YouTube - it was such an incredible good tutorial but nevertheless I was intimidated somehow, maybe even a bit scared.

And then years passed.. the game still unplayed on my shelf. SAD! ( :D )

Fast forward to 2018. Revised core set on the horizon. A new cycle as well. I was tempted again by the spoilers.. the beautiful artworks.. the cool theme.

"But xo_rocinante.. You can't be that stupid to invest even more money in this dead game."

Yes yes I know. And guess what? I can be that stupid . I ordered one revised core set. Nothing more, nothing less. Even though I own the unplayed old core and the full first two cycles. Stuuuupid . I then asked my buddy to play a short introduction game against me. With lots of beer and just a short overview of the rules. No 1-hour video or reading through all the paragraphs. Just try to remember what the main goal for each part is and how runs are done - to get an impression of how the game actually feels to play.

I expected to feel overwhelmed.. the need to consult the rules every few minutes and finally to try selling my whole collection for a few bucks.