How to start playing?

By JoeRocket, in Rules Questions

I'm new to Legend of the five rings role playing game. I don't understand how to play. Will someone please guide me into the right direction.

If you want the current beta you need to download the files bellow from ( https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/legend-of-the-five-rings-roleplaying-game/ )

Current Files to Date.

Legend of the Five Rings RPG

Beta v. 4.0

Tea Ceremony

L5R Beta Previews:

1. Mantis Clan

2. Mirumoto Two Sword School

3. Kakita Blade and Omamori

IF you want the previous editions you will need to get them from Drivethru or ebay.

Mostly, u only need to understand the way of life of Samouraï and the culture. That are the main difficulties. L5R without assuming to play in the culture with honor/Glory worths nothing. It does not involve full RP, but at least respect and understanding of culture.

After u have to understand how R&K works (following versions), that s all :)

Edited by fbtn

If your asking how to play a character in L5R read the fiction under the LCG section of the website.

( https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/legend-of-the-five-rings-fiction/ )

For the order to read them in

An Empire In Turmoil (Learn To Play, p. 2)
A Season of War (Learn To Play, pp. 19-21)
Her Father's Daughter
The Price Of War
The Rising Wave
Dark Hands Of Heaven
Risen From The Flames
Curved Blades
Smokeless Fire
The World, A Stage
A Most Suitable Teacher
In the Garden of Lies (Part 1)
In the Garden of Lies (Part 2)
To The South (Part 1)
To The South (Part 2)
The Fate of Flames
Better To Be Certain
The Fires of Justice
The Stories We Tell
Blind Ambition
Service and Sacrifice
A Difference Of Lanterns
Family Duty
Beneath, Below, Beyond
Court Games
Flying Chariot, Standing
The Bright Flame of the World's Glory
Honor, Loyalty, Duty
Wildcats And Dragon Teeth
Fireflies
The Spectres of War
Repentance Does Not Come First

This should give you a basic idea of how to play a character in L5R.