First Timer Help

By Cornwolf, in Painting

Hi All,

I am new to painting and well war gaming full stop and I am going all in. I have put a base primer on half of the storm troopers and Vader. I have then painted Vader black and that's where it has stopped for now. What is the best way to highlight it for a noob to painting? I was thinking of getting a dark ish grey and dry brushing over him to pick up the raised edges. I have seen a fair few videos but I feel like they are a little over my skill level just now.

Just for info I am using Citadel paint's, if this makes any difference?

Thanks in advance.

If you drybrush but take it too far then give it a wash with GW nuln oil. Drybrushing will give quick results but will look very 'painted'. Id try some simple layering. It takes time but its more rewarding. Otherwise you'll be looking to start vader all over again when your skill improves. Even a simple grey highlight along the raised edges will look good.

So using a fine brush and highlighting the areas if the best way rather than a dry brush? when you say gone too far is that if it's too light? I have Nuln Oil :)

I found this while searching for black highlighting option a while back, seems like a good option if you're not wanting to go crazy but want to do a small highlight.

cache.php?img=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.captainspud.com%2Fstuff%2Fpaintitblack.gif

The other option since you say your using citadel is follow their system for black armor.

Shade system to the left of Abaddon black, Drybrush to the right. Just search citadel paint system to see the full chart.

image.thumb.png.94a645f082a6baeee404e103107ce5f6.png

Edited by Skyguard

Awesome thanks buddy.

How often should you clean your brush between painting?

I clean it every time I change colour.

1 hour ago, Cornwolf said:

So using a fine brush and highlighting the areas if the best way rather than a dry brush? when you say gone too far is that if it's too light? I have Nuln Oil :)