First Time Painter / Wargame player

By amsowers, in Painting

I'm getting ready to buy my legion set and want to paint them right off the bat. I'm new at this though and wanted to get some help.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good starter kit? I was also wondering if anyone had any experience with the "testors" brand. I've seen them a lot in some more mainstream hobby shops like Michael's but wasn't sure if anyone had experience with how they hold up.

I'm hoping to share pictures as I finish painting but wanted to get some tips before I start.

you want ACRYLIC paints...not enamel.
which faction are you painting?
Highly recommend looking at your local game store for paints...but if you don't have a local game store I would say pick up any of these brands: Army painter, Vallejo, or Citadel (i.e. GW).
Army painter make a GREAT basic set of paint brushes that usually sell for ~$10 and their paints sell for $3. Vallejo have a similar price point. GW paints have a higher point cost ($4-$8) but also have "technical" paints which might be useful for you.
if you are painting Imperials you just need: White Primer, a white paint, a black or off black paint, and a dark /black wash. (you will also need a red paint for Vader)
for Rebels you need a primer in a color that comes close to your primary color for the uniform (tan , brown or green is the usual color) and then grab one of Battlefront's Team Yankee paint sets + a flesh color and flesh wash and you are all set. (you will need a teal/blue/turquoise for the alien heads too.)

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=battlefront+paint+sets

Edited by Hidatom

Spray paint them with a black undercoat of regular black spray paint you get at the hardware store.