Sounds fair. Although his fight/will stats are a bit strong. I'd probably bump them down one or two.
Custom Investigators
Maybe bumb'em down to 5 and 4 respectively and give him 3 focus.
vandoza said:
Maybe bumb'em down to 5 and 4 respectively and give him 3 focus.
Or put the points in luck and sneak. Or whatever you want really ;') I have no stake in this, I don't use custom investigators.
That's a good one. I like it. I don't think it really needs the "exhausted items cannot be used". That should be understood, no?
Grudunza said:
That's a good one. I like it. I don't think it really needs the "exhausted items cannot be used". That should be understood, no?
Not really, as far as I know. The items that can't be used when exhausted are items that say "exhaust to" or "exhaust before" (and of course, once they're exhausted, you can't "exhaust to" with them).
Dear FFG,
Please get some forum software that allows us to upload pictures directly! In the meantime, here's as a preview of my new fan-expansion, the Lovecraft Country Horror, here arethe salient details for Ramona Cahakarov...
Ramona Chakarov, The Gypsy
Start: Aylesbury Pike
Sanity / Stamina: 5 / 5
Focus: 3
Speed / Sneak: 0-3 / 5-2
Fight / Will: 1-4 / 4-1
Lore / Luck: 0-3 / 4-1
Posessions: $1, 1 Clue, Dark Cloak, Food, Anna Kaslow, Vednor's Permit, 1 Common Item, 1 Unique Item, 1 Exhibit Item, 1 Spell
Ability: Barter: Upkeep: Once per turn, you may discard a Common Item, Unique Item, Exhibit Item or Spell to draw a new item from that deck.
Story So Far: Life was never dull on the road. Like an exciting story, it had led Ramona from the country to the city, from the comforts of Europe to the opportunity of America, from the bright lights of New York to barren foothills of New England.
Arkham loomed on the horizon. The fog-shrouded, mysterious, old city she dimly remembered from stories her uncle used to tell her. All her life she had dreamt of Arkham. The adventure awaited.
Personal Story: Once upon a Time.
"Come, child, let me tell you a story while we wait for the stew to cook."
And what a story it was! To young Ramona, Arkham was a wonderful place, filled with courageous heroes and shadowy monsters, dazzling magic and treacherous traps.
After dinner, Ramona asked her uncle why he had chosen that story.
"One day," said Uncle Valya, rubbing her button nose, "you, too, may visit Arkham. Remember the stories of our people, for they may save your life as they have saved mine."
If Ramona ever discards five clue tokens, one Gate Trophy and one Monster Trophy during Upkeep, put Happily Ever After into play.
If the Ancient One ever awakens, put Only In Fairy Tales into play.
Happily Ever After : With uncanny ability Ramona averted every disaster, thwarted every trap, tricked every ogre and prevailed over every peril. The fairy tales never left her; they guided her every step of the way.
Ramona may seal one gate and remove one monster from the board. She may keep these trophies, even if they have the <b>Endless</b> ability.
Only In Fairy Tales: The road had been a long one since the old country, and the journey had wearied her terribly. She knew this was not how the story was meant to end, but she could not recall how else it would.
Ramona may not attack during the first round of combat against the Ancient One.
So basically she's an all-rounder. Her PS is pretty powerful, but she doesn't start with a Skill. Barter may also appear quite strong, but it's defintiely a gamble. if you've got a +3 weapon are you going to gamble to try and get a Tommy Gun or a Shotgun, in the knowledge that you could draw Whisky instead.
The personal story should have read:
Steam hissed from the logs as Uncle Valya threw the scraps of meat into the pot.
"Come, child, let me tell you a story while we wait for the stew to cook."
And what a story it was! To young Ramona, Arkham was a wonderful place, filled with courageous heroes and shadowy monsters, dazzling magic and treacherous traps.
After dinner, Ramona asked her uncle why he had chosen that story.
"One day," said Uncle Valya, rubbing her button nose, "you, too, may visit Arkham. Remember the stories of our people, for they may save your life as they have saved mine."
And please, FFG, consider getting some decent forum software. Take a look at www.yolkfolk.com or www.civfanatics.com for good examples.
Avi_dreader said:
Grudunza said:
That's a good one. I like it. I don't think it really needs the "exhausted items cannot be used". That should be understood, no?
Not really, as far as I know. The items that can't be used when exhausted are items that say "exhaust to" or "exhaust before" (and of course, once they're exhausted, you can't "exhaust to" with them).
Actually I'm reasonably sure that if an item gives a static bonus and also has an exhaustable ability it gives that static bonus weather exhausted or not. It only doesn't give the bonuses when it says exhaust to get them.
Veet said:
Avi_dreader said:
Grudunza said:
That's a good one. I like it. I don't think it really needs the "exhausted items cannot be used". That should be understood, no?
Not really, as far as I know. The items that can't be used when exhausted are items that say "exhaust to" or "exhaust before" (and of course, once they're exhausted, you can't "exhaust to" with them).
Actually I'm reasonably sure that if an item gives a static bonus and also has an exhaustable ability it gives that static bonus weather exhausted or not. It only doesn't give the bonuses when it says exhaust to get them.
Which is what I implied, I thought ;')
It's not broken, it's just above average. Tier two power.
_Kroen_ said:
_Kroen_ said:
Quick note: "elephant" is spelled incorrectly in both "Fast Loader" and "Improvise," and "Reading the Trail" should probably read: "Mike gains 1 Clue token whenever he defeats a monster" or "Mike gains 1 Clue token each time he defeats a monster."
Kind of a neat idea, though maybe he should have a "may not lose his elephant gun unless he allows it" since 2 of his 3 abilities depend on that? If he lost the gun, his Fight wouldn't be all that good.
"Reading the Trail" is very powerful, and I do worry a bit about it being too strong. It's better than William Yorick's ability to spend monster trophies as clue tokens, since Mike Winston gets a clue token and a monster trophy that he could spend elsewhere...such as at the Science Building for even more clue tokens.
Hm...realized something recently about my "Alexander Huntington" investigator's "Efficient Caster" ability. The way that is worded, technically, he would not exhaust Intervene or Call Down the Storm either. That's not exactly what I intended, though I'm not sure it's a problem. I don't really have an issue with Intervene going without being exhausted for him, since the 2 Sanity cost means his "Adaptive Mind" ability would have a little trouble being reliable on it and would make repeated castings fairly risky. "Call Down the Storm" seems like it might cause problems, though.
Can anyone think of a better wording for that which would limit it to spells like "Wither," "Dread Curse of Azathoth," and "Shriveling"? That is, spells that are actually being used in a manner similar to weapons, as opposed to ones that grant a combat bonus in some other way? Or, a wording that limits it to just those and "Intervene"?
"Bind Monster" isn't a problem because Alex's ability prevents exhausts, not discards.
I suppose I could just note "Call Down the Storm" as an exception, but I'd rather come up with a wording that will work even if they add other odd spells in an expansion.
"does not have to exhaust spells with combat bonuses."
Avi_dreader said:
"does not have to exhaust spells with combat bonuses."
Mrr...that kind of seems to mean the same thing, to me. :-P Intervene gives a combat bonus, as does Call Down the Storm, as far as I can tell.
Sdrolion said:
Avi_dreader said:
"does not have to exhaust spells with combat bonuses."
Mrr...that kind of seems to mean the same thing, to me. :-P Intervene gives a combat bonus, as does Call Down the Storm, as far as I can tell.
Ohhh, now I see what the problem is. Yeah, you may have to exclude those by name.
Hm...if I wanted to exclude Intervene as well, maybe:
"Alexander does not have to exhaust spells which grant him (and only him) a combat bonus?"
That would exclude "Call Down the Storm" because it grants a combat bonus to everyone who fights in that neighborhood, and would exclude Intervene if being used to aid any other investigator.
Sdrolion said:
Hm...if I wanted to exclude Intervene as well, maybe:
"Alexander does not have to exhaust spells which grant him (and only him) a combat bonus?"
That would exclude "Call Down the Storm" because it grants a combat bonus to everyone who fights in that neighborhood, and would exclude Intervene if being used to aid any other investigator.
"that can grant only him a combat bonus." A shorter way of saying the same thing
FYI, I don't think Call Down the Storm effects everyone in the neighborhood.
"Effect: Cast and exhaust while in Arkham to add +2 to any Combat check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase. "
It says any, not every. But I guess it's somewhat ambiguous, and I could be wrong.
Actually, no, it says "combat check" (singular). I don't think it's ambiguous at all.
Avi_dreader said:
Sdrolion said:
Hm...if I wanted to exclude Intervene as well, maybe:
"Alexander does not have to exhaust spells which grant him (and only him) a combat bonus?"
That would exclude "Call Down the Storm" because it grants a combat bonus to everyone who fights in that neighborhood, and would exclude Intervene if being used to aid any other investigator.
"that can grant only him a combat bonus." A shorter way of saying the same thing
Good point. Yeah. I think I'll go with that one...should resolve the issue.
_Kroen_ said:
why would not exhausting the spellls you mentioned be any problem? The first one requires 1 hand and the second one 2 hands. So you must have free hands dedicated for them.
[ADMIN] PLEASE REFRAIN FR OM MAKING PERSONAL ATTACKS AGAINST OTHERS. SEE THE FORUM GUIDELINES FOR MORE INFORMATION REGARDING ACCEPTABLE FORUM USAGE. THANK YOU.
Yes, he's insanely powerful. I mean, the things he can do Darrel can't even dream of. That's why I gave him a -1 penalty to his focus. Still pwerful, but awesome and badass imo.
On Alexander: I just think it's probably too much to allow Alexander to freely intervene in potentially every fight in the game. With that spell and his Will turned all the way up, he can basically add +3 (or worse, +6, if he has both Intervenes) to every other character's battle without even costing himself sanity. That's too much in my opinion, so I needed to weaken it.
On Strider: Neat idea, but I would definitely classify this one as too strong for Arkham Horror purposes. Maybe if it cost him something, like 2 clue tokens, to use that ability?
Avi_dreader said:
FYI, I don't think Call Down the Storm effects everyone in the neighborhood.
"Effect: Cast and exhaust while in Arkham to add +2 to any Combat check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase. "
It says any, not every. But I guess it's somewhat ambiguous, and I could be wrong.
Actually, no, it says "combat check" (singular). I don't think it's ambiguous at all.
Hrm. Honestly, I have to disagree on that one. To me, "any combat check...until the end of the phase" is effectively plural. If they wanted it to be just one, it'd be "to add +2 to the next Combat Check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase" or "to add +2 to one Combat Check...", etc.
The way it is presently worded, it sounds to me like it sets up a condition wherein all combat checks taking place in that neighborhood get a +2 until the phase ends.
Sdrolion said:
Avi_dreader said:
FYI, I don't think Call Down the Storm effects everyone in the neighborhood.
"Effect: Cast and exhaust while in Arkham to add +2 to any Combat check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase. "
It says any, not every. But I guess it's somewhat ambiguous, and I could be wrong.
Actually, no, it says "combat check" (singular). I don't think it's ambiguous at all.
Hrm. Honestly, I have to disagree on that one. To me, "any combat check...until the end of the phase" is effectively plural. If they wanted it to be just one, it'd be "to add +2 to the next Combat Check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase" or "to add +2 to one Combat Check...", etc.
The way it is presently worded, it sounds to me like it sets up a condition wherein all combat checks taking place in that neighborhood get a +2 until the phase ends.
Here's the thing, "check" is singular, "checks" is plural. It's possible FFG phrased the card poorly, but it says what it says. It doesn't say "every combat check" and it doesn't say "any combat checks." You could ask for some other players' opinions on the main part of the board (you may want to copy paste the contents of this discussion though to save people a bit of time). Then again... I suppose it's still somewhat ambiguously phrased. I think it needs official errata... And I won't be surprised if they rule it's played either way :'
Avi_dreader said:
Sdrolion said:
Hrm. Honestly, I have to disagree on that one. To me, "any combat check...until the end of the phase" is effectively plural. If they wanted it to be just one, it'd be "to add +2 to the next Combat Check that takes place in your neighborhood until the end of the phase" or "to add +2 to one Combat Check...", etc.
The way it is presently worded, it sounds to me like it sets up a condition wherein all combat checks taking place in that neighborhood get a +2 until the phase ends.
Here's the thing, "check" is singular, "checks" is plural. It's possible FFG phrased the card poorly, but it says what it says. It doesn't say "every combat check" and it doesn't say "any combat checks." You could ask for some other players' opinions on the main part of the board (you may want to copy paste the contents of this discussion though to save people a bit of time). Then again... I suppose it's still somewhat ambiguously phrased. It probably needs official errata.
However, "any" used with a singular can often mean to include every individual instance. For instance, if we're in the army and I, your commanding officer, say, "shoot any man who comes through that door," would you stop after the first one?
In that light, I added it to your topic on additional questions for the FAQ.
_Kroen_ said:
Alright, let me settle this .
Thank you for your input, but one additional person's opinion doesn't really settle it. I agree with Avi: this needs an official errata to make it unambiguous.
I'll stop taking up the custom investigator's board with this discussion...anyway, the matter as it relates to Alexander is resolved (thanks again, Avi), and I'm content to wait for an official statement on the card in question.
Sdrolion said:
However, "any" used with a singular can often mean to include every individual instance. For instance, if we're in the army and I, your commanding officer, say, "shoot any man who comes through that door," would you stop after the first one?
In that light, I added it to your topic on additional questions for the FAQ.
I know ;') that's why I said it's ambiguous and requires an official answer. It really can mean either thing as it is currently worded.
Hey guys.
On the french version, it's written "add +2 to all Combat checks". It's obviously plural.
That's not an official ruling, but it's another stone to our wall.