Expansion ideas?

By Ken on Cape, in Twilight Imperium

I’m new to TI but I was wondering what people would want for expansions to TI 4. Or is it good the way it is? All 17 races, streamlined rules. Would expansions bog it down with extra rules, ect?

The only general consensus I've seen is that it'd be nice to have 7-8 players and "some of the options" from the TI3 expansions, reworked for TI4.

Where that consensus falls apart is on which options are needed vs wanted vs despised. For example, a lot of people would like to see Distant Suns return (and pretty much universally agree that it should be as three decks of cards or three sets of tokens, one for each planet type), but not everyone likes it. Some of us miss mech tanks, others hated them. (If they do bring them back, they'll probably need some serious game-balance tweaks.) Not everyone liked mercenaries, but some of us would love to see them included if they're revamped to fit seamlessly into the game (as opposed to the "need their own SC" version from TI3). And so on.

I feel like TI4 is definitely due for at least one big expansion, but I'd imagine it being closer to Catan's "Traders and Barbarians" (a bunch of mini-expansions, and you can use any or all of them) as opposed to Catan's "Seafarers" (one big set of rules that changes the game significantly).

EDIT: Actually, worth mentioning that the only thing I really think TI4 absolutely needs is another set of more aggressive public objectives. I'd like more options that focus on combat and conquest instead of so much "spend X" and "have these techs." Right now the game is too easy on the peaceful races like Jol-Nar and too hard on the warriors, IMO.

Edited by pklevine

I still say that there should be one "Distant Suns"-deck with all three planet types on the same card similar to how Town Encounters are handled in Arkham Horror...

16 minutes ago, Fnoffen said: