I wrote an app to run Cosmic Encounter tournaments

By jdu98a, in Cosmic Encounter

I am a software developer by trade. I am also a huge Cosmic Encounter fan and have been playing the game for 20+ years. I have introduced the game to a number of people. Enough people that it is possible for us to have a decent sized tournament (12-15 players). I decided to use my developer skills to tackle the job of managing a tournament. This was my process:

[I should make it clear that the app I built is for my own personal use only, and has not been monetized in any way]

How I Chose to Run My Tournaments

There are basically two ways to run a CE tournament.

1) Some sort of elimination bracket. This is viable but complicated since there are more than two players in a game, and particularly if you intend to allow shared wins (which to me is a big part of the fun of CE)

OR

2) Convert games to a scoring system whereby each player at the table ends the game (win or lose) with some score value that then accumulates to result in a ranking of all players.

The solution I decided on was #2 with a variation. There would be multiple rounds of play using the scoring system. Following the last regular round the players with the top cumulative scores (probably 4-6) would secure a seat at the final table. The final table does not use the scoring system. The winner of the final game is the tournament winner.

The assigning of alien powers is handled at the start of the tournament via a draft process. In an example tournament consisting of 3 normal rounds (+ 1 final round) each player drafts 4 alien cards. Each alien can be used only once over the course of the tournament and they can be used in any order the player sees fit. This allows players to have some level of control in planning and executing a strategy for their tournament. Assuming of course that they are able to get the alien cards they were hoping for.

The Scoring System