Aggressive Rebel Diplomacy

By Flashman22, in Star Wars: Rebellion

I'm new to SWR however in the few games I have played as the rebels I had a real issue in doing the obvious sabotage mission and other combat led missions due to Darth Vader, Boba Fett and my opponent going after my combat based leaders.

As a backup I would use the diplomacy mission not just to flip neutral systems to the rebellion but deploy in imperial held systems where he could build capital ships. I found it easier to beat the empire with diplomacy if opposed and the effect if successful is to gain one loyalty meaning the world becomes subjected denying the empire of its star destroyer production in that system. It also annoyed the **** out of my opponent.

Now I dont have the card to hand as it's packed in the box but I'm sure You can play it in any populas system so checking I'm using it correctly?

Also is this a viable strategy to use or am I missing some deeper strategies that would counter it if my opponent had a few more games under his belt?