Sorry for my ignorance......

By Yooper, in Deathwatch

I am somewhat new to 40k, I just started with the release of DH. So my question is, what EXACTLY is a space marine? Why do half the posters here think they can't be roleplayed? To me this looks way more roleplayable(?) than RT.

Thank You.

To answer your questions, A space marine is a 2.5 meter tall genetically engineered, brain wiped, kilmaimburn machine that carries a 25 mm bullet, semi-auto rocket-propelled grenade launcher pistol , as a standard sidearm. other include the assault rifle variant, the heavy machine-gun variant, and the variant that glues 6 of the assault rifles together. Many posters do not believe they can be roleplayed because they are BRAIN WIPED!!!!! How are they more roleplayable than soulless capitalists?

Not all Space Marines are brain wiped. Actually MOST aren't. I think the Grey Knights are the only ones that do it as an all the time practice but I could be wrong on that.

Brain wiped? Really? Never heard of that being done to them before. Intensive training and hypno-indroctination yes, but not brain wiped.

If they were brain wiped then they would be personality devoid and non-roleplayable.

And they're only about 2.1m tall (7').

Yooper said:

I am somewhat new to 40k, I just started with the release of DH. So my question is, what EXACTLY is a space marine? Why do half the posters here think they can't be roleplayed? To me this looks way more roleplayable(?) than RT.

Thank You.

Space Marines are the most elite forces the Imperium has. They are extremely rare and are regarded almost as living warrio-saints by the majority of the population.