Kyle Ren's Repaint Thread

By Kyle Ren, in X-Wing Painting and Modification

Sorry everyone, this is going to be an enourmous blitz of stuff (*edit: moved the ships to seperate posts, thanks for the suggestion, Force Majeure!*), I painted a lot of these a while ago but I was simply too lazy to bother getting an image hosting account set up. I'll just start at the beginning and move forward.

I'm kind of new to painting, so any comments/suggestions are more than welcome!

Before these my customization was limited to Sharpie Markers, but I'll just put the ones I used real paints on in here! :)

First up there's some Z-95s. I painted these a while back (about a year ago), and the first one had a broken peg so I figured that it wouldn't be that big of a deal if I ruined it (since I own three copies of Most Wanted anyway :P ).

dc285ce26ebd4a182d3955edb6c4a859.jpg

Still feel bad that I never bothered fixing that peg. Oh well. Maybe later. Moving on... I learned a bit from that first Z-95 and decided to paint another rusty Z-95 with a yellow scheme.

74afd2107e587e03231a4562ecf56fe3.jpg a1c237e09847d1acc074d5eed060a363.jpg

Welp, thanks for looking! Any suggestions/comments would be more than welcome! Cheers!

Edited by Kyle Ren

Great work! I really like that x-wing you did. The only thing I would suggest is a lighter second coat of paint on the hwk-290 (I have worked with them before and they seem to need a second coat) but besides that, excellent work. :D

Two suggestions/comments about your ships and one about your posts:

1) Don't rush. It comes across as though you might be hurrying to finish since there are some places where you may have missed a spot or two.

2) Thin your paints. It doesn't have to be much, but when you've overloaded your brush with paint, it blobs up and gets on the model too thick. What then happens is it takes longer for it to dry, and it potentially muddies up details in the sculpt.