Daqan 200 pts - Steel Rain

By playnwin, in Runewars List Building

So, I've been playing Daqan for a while, looking for a list that really caught me. Played Spearstar for a while, played Calv for a while, tried MSU, nothing really felt like it was the list for me. Then Crossbowmen came out and I started playing around with them, and I struck upon the following list that I really liked:

Lord Hawthorne (34)
-Unique: Sweeping Strikes (5)
--Total Unit Cost: 39

Spearmen x6 (40)
-Champion: Lance Corporal (6)
--Total Unit Cost: 46

Spearmen x6 (40)
-Champion: Lance Corporal (6)
--Total Unit Cost: 46

Heavy Crossbowmen x3 (27)
-Equipment: Tempered Steel (3)
-Training: Rank Discipline (4)
--Total Unit Cost: 34

Heavy Crossbowmen x3 (27)
-Equipment: Tempered Steel (3)
-Training: Rank Discipline (4)
--Total Unit Cost: 34

I found this to have a very flexible playstyle that I really like. The Spearmen with Lance Corporal can do many things, ranging from long-range charges, enhanced early melee attacks, or melee with a defense modifier. The Crossbowmen are suprisingly lethal, being able to toss a ton of damage out reliably. And Hawthorne with Sweeping Strikes is able to both provide support through inspiration, as well as go into melee without fearing return strikes.

I was wondering, though, if the forum hivemind has any improvements that I may not have considered.

Interesting. I might want to build something similar with waiqar with archers and reanimates :) i realy like the concept of 2 melee infantry squads supported with 2 ranged squads. In waiqar i could try to.use 2 units of reanimates in 3 by 2 formation with frontline carrion lancer and 2 units of archers :)

Did you find yourself using Sweeping Strikes? I've never attempted it before.

13 hours ago, Glucose98 said:

Did you find yourself using Sweeping Strikes? I've never attempted it before.