Help me with the inspiration boon timing!

By porkobolo, in Runewars Rules Questions

Hi guys,

i'm new to this wonderful (excluding death grasp) game. I've got a typical rule lawyering question: when can i use an ispiration boon EXACTLY?

I'll explain: an inspiration boon can be used "Before a unit reveals its command tool". Does this mean that i can use the boon RIGHT BEFORE revealing the command tool o "simply" before revealing the command tool?

I'll make an example: i got a unit with a pair of inspiration boons, let's say the typical golem LaBeouf (JUST DO IT GOLEM). Then some sneaky waiqar archer puts on my poor LaBeouf a pair of Blight banes. On that right moment a gigantic mass of protein called necroworm charges my Labeouf, which has the command tool still unrevealed (maybe he wanted to do something slow, like moving on initiative 8). Can i spend my boons to get rid of the banes before the protein monster AKA necroworm attacks (and uses it's ability to do mortal strikes with banes) or not? We are before i reveal the command tool, but not RIGHT before i reveal it.

Sorry for my poor English, thanks for the help!

Claudio.

A good question. I always played RIGHT before you reveal. However, in your example using them that way would make a huge difference. I don't know which is correct.

I also played right before you reveal. But the rules does not prevent you from spending inspiration tokens.

[13.1 A unit can spend one or more of its boons to resolve a positive effect for each boon spent. Each boon causes a unique effect, as follows:

• Inspiration: Before a unit with an inspiration token reveals its command tool, that token can be spent to remove one bane from that unit or to ready an upgrade card on that unit.]