First Block 3 Event at Gnome Games, Green Bay WI

By DoubleD3, in UFS Tourney Reports

So this is a report from the first event with Block 3 at Gnome Games. I am not totally sure why I am writing this, mostly for funsies and to get my thoughts on Block 3 out there since that's all I have been playing for the last two months. So here goes...

Saturday morning, 11:30AM...I finally get up after a late night of listening to Podhammer, and hanging out with my brother Lee. We both decide to go ahead and get some food, and start planning for the weekly event at Gnome. Lee has this super jank Air Hanzo deck with none of the awesome power cards, ie no Feline Spikes, Chester's, or the best card in the format, Olcadan's(more on this later ;) ) I on the other hand after playing a few games with Kyoshiro decide to piece together my All Terry deck from when I first started playing block 3. With our decks in tow we head out to the Gnomer to wage war. We get there chill with Jeff our scout, and shoot the breeze for a bit. Jeff and I play one game, Order Seong Mi-na vs All Terry...and we don't get to finish because the tournament is about to start.

Round One...Steve Bird/Air Adon

Steve is one of the usuals who plays with us, I have not seen his Air Adon before so I know I need to play tight and not underestimate him. Game one I manage to get a pretty good set up and whittle down his 19 vitality with some hot Fight or Flight action. Game two goes pretty long as well with me having a pretty dominate board position, and Steve has just a ton of momentum. I Fight or Flight a Shin Shoryuken right into his dome, but due to me checking poorly to pass the seven difficulty(something I would do ALL day) I cannot get the kill this turn. His next turn...REALLY fast Jaguar Thousand right in my teeth...GAME THREE! I manage to get some sort of freak god draw and my first turn is BRT BRT Fight or Flight, Saikyo Ryu...two turns later, Adon is down for the count.

1-0