In depth thoughts on Setting Enhancements

By Yoritomo Kazuto, in Lore Discussion

Here is a rahter long topic about L5R and how it would be possible to integrate additional historical Japanese aspects into the LCG, RPG, and Story. Several of the things included are; Yamabushi, Onmyouji, and Shinto Shrines (called Jinja in Japanese). I will provide further details in regards to each of those, as well as links to various sites that you may find useful. In addition I will discuss the Mantis Clan, and aspects about them and the historical connotations from Japan that may fit well for them. I have been studying Japanese culture and religion for a couple years now, and I am blessed to have had to opportunity to visit Japan with regular visits thanks to my in-laws being Japanese.
Yamabushi follow a religion called Shugen-do which is a syncretic faith of Shinto, Buddhism, and Toaism (this is similar in many ways to the design of the L5R combined faith of Shintao). It is a mountain faith that focuses on using asceticism to gain magical powers against evil spirits. This would be a fitting way for Shugenja in L5R to fit neatly within the Dragon Clan, mixing the Ascetic ways of the Togashi Monks with the Shugenja techniques and traditions often utilized by the other clans. In addition with the focus being on the defeat of evil spirits they would be useful against potential shadowland corruptive forces ,or for calming down angry Kami that inhabit the mountains and/or storms. In fact the religion of Shugen-do is likely the inspiration of Shugenja in L5R to an extent, as most Shugenja utilize some of the concepts to a limited degree. Albeit the Shugenja more likely fill the role of Kannushi in Shinto, more on that later.