Parakitor's painting (re)animated

By Parakitor, in Runewars Painting and Modeling

I finally have enough of my army painted that I feel that I can start a thread with my work in progress. And by "finally," I mean that I've been painting a few nights a week for about two months, and this is all I have to show for it :P . I am a very slow painter, but I am enjoying the process. The only miniatures I have painted before were a Firespray-31 from X-wing, and a handful of Imperial Assault, but I got bored and quit those, mostly because I played X-wing way more than Imperial Assault, so it felt like a waste of time. Now, I'm trying my hand at painting up the dreadful army of Waiqar the Undying!

After trimming, cleaning, and gluing my figures, I decided to prime in black. Unfortunately, the paint was way darker than I wanted, so I decided to give that zenithal highlight technique a try; the one that @Sorastro always talks about. I used Army Painter spray primer.

35697301971_cdbc7b603f_z.jpg

35441358580_8067c7576f_z.jpg

I think it turned out well, for the most part...except for one major flaw: I held the can of primer too far away on my third pass of black to get the undersides, resulting in a grainy texture on all of my skeletons! So I had a choice: press forward, or try to strip the primer. After reading a bunch of threads across the web, I decided to press forward. If it turned out terrible, I could always drop some cash for a new Core Set, and stick these guys in the back ranks.

Now that all my skeletons were primed, I needed some paint. Since I'd rather spend my money on miniatures than paints, I decided on Apple Barrel brand paints, and Agrax Earthshade for my shade/wash.

35660743382_a726ac9192_z.jpg

And, now, onto the skeletons! So far, all I have managed is base painting.

35441365000_2e3a5da78b_z.jpg

35660749972_75ee00cc64_z.jpg

35829739685_05a9a9a0f9_z.jpg

35697304801_7979537a4f_z.jpg