Basing the Trays

By lokicaprion, in Runewars Painting and Modeling

I've gotten some good progress on my army, and I just started basing for the first time. I'm pretty satisfied with how the bases are looking for my individual models, and so I have some idea to base the trays themselves.

I've never done any basing before, so I worry about the basing material staying on the trays during transport. Do you matt varnish spray over the top of the basing after it's all done? If so, would that make the interlocking trays even harder to pull apart during gameplay?

On 5/20/2017 at 10:52 AM, lokicaprion said:

If so, would that make the interlocking trays even harder to pull apart during gameplay?

This is my biggest concern (and the absolute hardest thing to do) with the game right now! :)

Love the game! Love the models and cannot wait to paint them!

However...

When a tray needs to be pulled off...wow. It is a challenge. I was just thinking last night as we played...what happens when there is grass and pebbles and **** all over the bases?

Thoughts?

It's certainly a challenge and my mine gripe with the design: pulling the trays out during the game, especially if they have been decorated can be a pain. The sand on my trays is coming off in a few small places after the first game. The figure bases themselves are not so bad, they come off the trays quite easily, reducing the wear and tear so much I haven't had any problems crop up.

My advice would be to keep the base decoration as simple as you can (while still looking good enough for you of course), and especially keep it away from the edges, so the trays can interlock without base material interfering. Coating the basing material (before putting any grass on) with a good soaking of PVA is a must!

12 hours ago, Uthoroc said:

Coating the basing material (before putting any grass on) with a good soaking of PVA is a must!