Got my core set...all is good...I think...

By Joker2007, in Runewars Painting and Modeling

So I got my first core set...there it was, sitting on my front porch, exuding a glow like an angel from heaven. Was I excited? Happy? Giggling like a schoolgirl? Why yes. Yes I was. I tore open the box and started greedily fondling the goodies inside...unable to control the urge to get those minis in my hands. With a crazed gleam in my eye I took in all the details. Grabbing my trusty xacto knife and a fresh blade I went to work!!! 30 minutes later I thought I had the first reanimate cleaned up...right about then the heavenly glow faded away.

Kind of long winded, wasn't it?

So...the mold lines on my core set are...God awful. After about 2 hours of work, I have 4 skellies primed and ready for basecoating.

Now, I've been building models and painting minis for more than 3 decades...I'm no stranger to difficult builds and the prep that is necessary. With that being said, I'll admit that these are driving me batsh@t crazy. At this rate, my core will take 8 years to paint.

I hate the plastic these are made from. PVC, whatever. I said it. I hate it. With a passion. What really sucks is I love the sculpts. The look of them, the poses, they are fantastic.

Ok. I vented. I feel a bit better.

My question to all of you is (especially those who have 2 core sets): have you noticed a difference in the mold lines from different boxes? Some of the minis I have look like they came from molds that have been used for 20 years. The amount of flash on some of them is insane...was thinking about getting another core just to compare.

BTW, I will still buy all the expansions and support and hype the game cuz I think it is awesome.