Questions about oversized figures and front guard/scout combo cards

By iceberg84, in Doom

Hi, I'm new to Doom and just started playing with a group and I have a few questions.

1) Are oversized figures hit multiple times by weapons like grenades, the BFG or chainsaws? Example, in the last room of the first scenario there are a bunch of oversized figures grouped together. One marine fired at them with the BFG and based on the blast radius of the gun, hit a 5 x 5 square which covered a few of them completely. He then scored 10 hits on the dice which he argued was multiplied by 4 (one for each space the oversized figures covered). I don't think that was correct and we probably just cheated through the last room without knowing it. We tried to consult the rules but couldn't find anything solid either way so we let it be since the night was winding down.

1, b) What if a player with a chainsaw is standing to the side of an oversized figure like a demon dog? Does he essentially deal double damage because of the creatures size?

2) With front guard and scout together, my marine seemed really cool, being able to advance 8 spaces AND attack twice. Could I break up those moves and attacks however I wanted? As in, move 2 spaces, shoot once, move another 3, shoot once, then move elsewhere another 3?

3) We had a hard time staying alive and moving through the game. The first mission took us about 3 and a half hours because we kept getting bogged down by spawned monsters. What's the general strategy for winning as a marine? Do you just ignore the spawned creatures? My issue with ignoring them was that they'd catch up eventually and we'd have to fight them.