Newb considering getting into BattleLore #2

By Bxrrr, in BattleLore

Hi all,

I'm hoping my first post is up by the time you get around to reading this one (moderator needs to approve my posts as I'm a newb).

I'd really appreciate your advice.

I'm going to get the base game, and I'd like to get more BattleLore products.

Question is, what should I get?

Is getting just one of the two available Undead army packs enough to have a balanced battle against one of the base pack's two armies? If so, which Undead army pack should I get?

Also, does it make sense to get just one of the reinforcement packs? I know they come with scenarios in which they don't belong to any player, but should I want to add, say, a mountain giant to my army, will my opponent's army be too weak as a result?

Is it a case of buy (at least) two reinforcement pack or none at all?

Hope you can give me some useful advice and insights. Thanks a lot!

Alex

Hi Bxrrr

It's a cool game, you'll enjoy it! I think you've got 2 possibilities going for expansions:

> Base game and expansions for Daqan and Uthuk

This will give you the full experience of this fractions with lot more options then base game only. But you need 2 Expansion sets to buy and you can't "smell" the undead army of Waiqar

> Base game and Waiqar

This allows you to test all available fractions and you only need 1 set. Which set is a good question. I think you should just think about what you like more:

Terrors of the Mists are the walking hords of Skeletons that are ruled by Necromancers and acompagned by Barghests, leaded by a screaming Banshee

The Herolds of Dreadfall are leaded by a giant undead dragon, your skeletons will walk aside of ghostly Wraith's among horrible dead Knights...

Both can be easily played as stand-alone expansions. Terrors of Mists might have a little higher power level, but they don't have a Barrow Wyrm ;)