Move Action vs Component Action

By banditdog, in General Discussion

I have searched this forum and the internet in general and haven't found an answer to this question.

Ursula Downs (Under the Pyramid) Investigator sheet has Action : Move 1 space along an Uncharted path, then perform 1 additional action. (Giving her an effective 3 actions per Action Phase if one of those is moving along an uncharted path.)

The rulebook section on Travel and Component actions are as follow:

Travel Action : The investigator moves his Investigator token to any adjacent space. After moving, the investigator may spend any number of travel tickets to move one additional space per ticket spent. Investigators can only spend Train Tickets to move along Train paths, and Ship Tickets to move along Ship paths.

Component Action : The investigator may perform an action listed on one of his components (such as a card or his Investigator sheet ). These actions are preceded by the word “Action” in bold.

Since Ursula Downs action on her investigator card is, by my reading, considered a Component Action, and since a Travel Action is, again by my reading, a different action, can Ursula do the following?
Using Component Action, move from The Heart of Africa along the Uncharted path to Space 15 (city).
Using a Prepare for Travel Action, acquire a Ship Ticket token.
Using a Travel Action, move to Space 18, and, spending her ticket token, continue on to Sidney.
Or did I miss a rule/errata/FAQ somewhere that defines "move" as "Travel" no matter where it is printed?

That'd be how I rule it, as well. If it mattered, I think there would be a "...this counts as a Travel Action" on the card, if FFG wanted to disallow such a large move.

I like it that way, anyway. Having the investigators who specialize in travel can make for quick response to a large area, especially if you've prepared for travel on a previous turn. Component action move, bonus action Travel + spend ticket), third action trade/prepare/acquire/local action.

You are correct. The component action of Ursula's ability is not a "travel" action. This also means that you are not able to immediately spend a ticket directly following the "free" move either (if you happen to already have one).

Your suggestion of using her ability, following it with a prepare to travel action, and then traveling + spending her newly acquired ticket is legal. It is used fairly often for characters with movement abilities like Ursula and Silas.

Remember though that you can only prepare to travel in cities.

Edited by Soakman

Thanks much for the sanity check! I thought I was reading and understanding that correctly but had some questions from other players in the last game. So I wanted to get some collaboration on my understanding. Thanks again!