Questions about Under The Pyramids

By Chronos96, in General Discussion

Hi all. I recently purchased UTP and had some questions about Nephren-Ka as the ancient one. First, do you choose which mysteries you want to use with him? Second, how do the special encounter cards work with him?

And finally when it comes to impairment tokens I know the book says they cancel improvement tokens and vice versa but say I had a +2 improvement token on a character and then got a -1 impairment token would they completely cancel each other out completely or would the skill just subtract one of the +1 from the +2 since +2's count as two improvement tokens? Really need this clarified for sure.

Thank you

Hi Chronos96.

As far as I know:

1. You play with all the mysteries of the Ancient One.

2. I supposed you meant when are they used.

One set is used:

As part of a Mystery Card

And the other:

Nephren-Ka Awakens

If you meant how to resolve them. As any other Complex Encounter you resolve the top text and based on the result you resolve the pass(middle text) or fail effect(Bottom text).

3. They substract each other,

So you are right, having +2 Improvement Tokens and having to Impair(-1), equals +2-1=+1 Improvement token, or if you have to impair it twice(-2) equals +2-2=0(No tokens)

I Hope this clarify your questions.

First, do you choose which mysteries you want to use with him?

No. The same as with the other Ancient Ones.

And finally when it comes to impairment tokens I know the book says they cancel improvement tokens and vice versa but say I had a +2 improvement token on a character and then got a -1 impairment token would they completely cancel each other out

When the cardboard improvement disk is turned "+2" side up it represents two "+1" improvement tokens, not one "+2" improvement token. If you lose/spend one of these two tokens, you flip the disk to represent this loss.

In the light of the rules there's no such thing as a "+2" improvement token. The "+2" is printed there only for convenience, so you don't have to use two "+1" tokens. But for all uses it is a two "+1" tokens.

I hope I haven't made this even more confusing then it was. :-)

Thanks for the replies!