New to the game...have some questions

By daddystabz, in Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay

I am fairly new to the game, after buying a lot of the products and never getting to play. I have 2 questions.

1) Is this game discontinued/abandoned by FFG?

2) How similar are the game mechanics to FFG Star Wars? I own all the books for Star Wars and run it weekly for a local group.

The answer to your questions is:

1) Unfortunately yes, the game has been discontinued by FFG and though there was recently a reprint of several of the items it was announced a while ago that there will be no further development of or new products appearing in the WFRP3 line up, which is probably not the news you were looking for, but it is what it is.

2) Though I haven't yet played Star Wars it's my understanding that the game mechanics are similar in as much as it appears that Star Wars is a more refined product having taken some of the best of WFRP3 e.g. dice pools and refined them e.g. dice pool now streamlined so you need to roll fewer dice.

Not that they're similar enough to just use star wars dice to run WFRP3 or anything but I guess someone coming to WFRP3 from Star Wars and vice versa should have a head start. But beyond that I should leave it to others more familiar with star wars to comment further.

I've played in a WFRP3rd game for sometime, and I GM a monthly Star Wars game, so I can speak with some experience relating to this.

I'll put it this way; I don't like the WFRP 3rdEd mechanics, but I absolutely love the Star Wars mechanics. So... are they similar? Yes and No.

As Noel says, the FFG SW ruleset is a refined version of the 3rdEd mechanics, although I would say it goes further than that. For example the mechanics are not interchangeable. 3rdEd damage for example is fixed damage: You roll your attack, and your damage is based on the card action+stat. So 3 hammers for example might translate on a card as +2 plus your stat/weapon dmg.