First attempt at painting

By hippy777, in Star Wars: Armada Painting and Modification

My hands shake a lot so I can't do really small details very well but this is my first attempt at painting some squadrons (or miniatures at all)

They're not great, but still look better than they did out of the box so I'm OK with it.

I didn't have a place to host the pictures so I took 2 short videos of the squadrons and put them on YouTube

https://youtu.be/bBvpsUasOpw

https://youtu.be/fLgMEQHqZAI

Edited by hippy777

Watch how you brace yourself, put both elbows on the table to stop or limit the shakes.

If you brace your wrists you'll actually compound the problem as you have a pulse there that aggravates the shaking.

Thanks for the tip!

Shakes and all they are very good looking.

Thanks for sharing. :)

TY Amanal :) They're turning out better than I thought I was going to do that's for sure.

And I already prepared a story for any mistakes / ugliness....

Battle of Endor.

extra black smudge? Battle of Endor
crooked line? Battle of Endor

wrong color??? Battle of Endor

heh.

Keep in mind you tend to see the little wobbles and errors.

Most people looking at a model tend not to be 4" away from it as you may well be when painting it. As such I think people tend to be far more self critical that they should ever be.

Very true.

Shrunk down some pics so I could attach them

post-277792-0-77650800-1467008463_thumb.jpg

post-277792-0-58243600-1467008479_thumb.jpg

post-277792-0-54442400-1467008497_thumb.jpg

More to come when I get the file size small enough (tomorrow)

Give them a wash! Nuln oil works wonders in small doses

I have a bunch that are washed, I didn't want to do these ones, I wanted a squadron of "Fresh off the factory floor" look. The first batch I did have a lot of "battle damage" / flown thru explosions soot / smudges on them. Soon as I get htem under 325k size on disk, I'll post them here.

Stick them on Photobucket.

Then, view them there.