Put all questions here !!!
This help to consolidate the information for all players.
Road to Legend Questions
Great, finally a dedicated sub-forum, thank you to everybody for asking for it !!
Monster placement: if app require to spawn a group of monster who is already on the map.
1) Do they recover all damage and remove any conditions on that monster, and be placed it as directed as in "Nature's Ire" ?
2) Only the missing monsters (comparing to the group limit) are placed in the new position
Up until now we have played according to (2) but, having read now NI rules, I am not sure anymore.
Great, finally a dedicated sub-forum, thank you to everybody for asking for it !!
![]()
Monster placement: if app require to spawn a group of monster who is already on the map.
1) Do they recover all damage and remove any conditions on that monster, and be placed it as directed as in "Nature's Ire" ?
2) Only the missing monsters (comparing to the group limit) are placed in the new position
Up until now we have played according to (2) but, having read now NI rules, I am not sure anymore.
![]()
As there's nothing mentioned about recovering health in the rule book (pg. 6) we play it according to (2). If the monsters are at their group limit, nothing happens if the app doesn't say anything about ignoring them.
I've got two - they're both to do with monster surge abilities:
[surge] +X [heart]
Is this a typo/bug? What should 'X' be? I've been counting it as 1 until I can find it's true value
[surge] Range (if applicable)
Not sure how to read this ... does this mean the monster automatically has range regardless of roll?
For the second campaign, with Lord Merrick, do we earn experience as we go along like in the board game? I have only loaded it up to see if we started with any experience this time and noticed we did not.
For the second campaign, with Lord Merrick, do we earn experience as we go along like in the board game? I have only loaded it up to see if we started with any experience this time and noticed we did not.
Yes.
I've got two - they're both to do with monster surge abilities:
[surge] +X [heart]
Is this a typo/bug? What should 'X' be? I've been counting it as 1 until I can find it's true value
[surge] Range (if applicable)
Not sure how to read this ... does this mean the monster automatically has range regardless of roll?
Range question: no, the monster need count the range in the dices. For example, if a goblin archer in the spot position ( three spaces always from a hero) roll only a 2 range and a surge in the dices, he need take a surge to add 1 more range to hit the target, otherwise the attack miss.
Check the pag 10 in the app rules, will help you in the topic.
Edited by kraistoYou need check the monster card for the X value. For example, a minion act I goblin archer have the +1 hearth surge, but the master have the +2 hearth surge. Check the Road to Legend rules.
Range question: no, the monster need count the range in the dices. For example, if a goblin archer in the spot position ( three spaces always from a hero) roll only a 2 range and a surge in the dices, he need take a surge to add 1 more range to hit the target, otherwise the attack miss.
Check the pag 10 in the app rules, will help you in the topic.
Thanks kraisto!
So just to clarify then, the [surge] Range (if applicable) option would mean that if the monster card had a surge ability like [surge] + 2 Range then I would apply that.
Edited by maxam
Great, finally a dedicated sub-forum, thank you to everybody for asking for it !!
Monster placement: if app require to spawn a group of monster who is already on the map.
1) Do they recover all damage and remove any conditions on that monster, and be placed it as directed as in "Nature's Ire" ?
2) Only the missing monsters (comparing to the group limit) are placed in the new position
Up until now we have played according to (2) but, having read now NI rules, I am not sure anymore.
2) is correct
Road to Legend rules:
MONSTER PLACEMENT
Always respect group limits unless the app specifies to ignore them.
Natures Ires have specific rules for their own adventure.
Edited by kraisto
For the second campaign, with Lord Merrick, do we earn experience as we go along like in the board game? I have only loaded it up to see if we started with any experience this time and noticed we did not.
Yes.
Thanks for the reply. Any idea how much experience we can expect to have by the end of the latest campaign? I suspect it's around 3 or so.
You need check the monster card for the X value. For example, a minion act I goblin archer have the +1 hearth surge, but the master have the +2 hearth surge. Check the Road to Legend rules.
Range question: no, the monster need count the range in the dices. For example, if a goblin archer in the spot position ( three spaces always from a hero) roll only a 2 range and a surge in the dices, he need take a surge to add 1 more range to hit the target, otherwise the attack miss.
Check the pag 10 in the app rules, will help you in the topic.
Thanks kraisto!
So just to clarify then, the [surge] Range (if applicable) option would mean that if the monster card had a surge ability like [surge] + 2 Range then I would apply that.
You only ever do the the range surge if it would turn a hit into a miss. If not, you ignore it and do the damage or whatever the app states in the info panel. The reason why the info is +x hearts is because the panel is the same for minions and masters, who often have different level of + X hearts surges.
Edited by kraistoThanks for the reply. Any idea how much experience we can expect to have by the end of the latest campaign? I suspect it's around 3 or so.Yes.For the second campaign, with Lord Merrick, do we earn experience as we go along like in the board game? I have only loaded it up to see if we started with any experience this time and noticed we did not.
For the second campaign, with Lord Merrick, do we earn experience as we go along like in the board game? I have only loaded it up to see if we started with any experience this time and noticed we did not.
Yes.
Thanks for the reply. Any idea how much experience we can expect to have by the end of the latest campaign? I suspect it's around 3 or so.
After 3 story quests my group has 4xp without purchasing any in Tamalir.
I have a question about the search card "Threasure chest",that says: "Discard this card and take 1 card from the shop deck...", how to play it in road to legend?.
We don“t have any way to take a random item. Maybe the app could include a random event that implements this card and choose the random item from the deck ?
Thanks in advance!!
You have to discard the nothing, secret passage and treasure cards of your search deck
Hello! Can a hero with 3 hp absorb all damage from the peril like "heroes must collectively suffer 10 damage"?
If I have expansions, will RTL use map tiles from them or can I just put them away in another box? So far is hasn't. Another thing I noticed was that in the Rise of Goblins campaign it used monsters from my expansions. So far during the first quest in Kindrid Fire, it has used only monsters that came with the core set. Is this a coincidence or is something else going on? It did have a shop item from one of the expansions so I am hoping it was just a coincidence.
If I have expansions, will RTL use map tiles from them or can I just put them away in another box? So far is hasn't. Another thing I noticed was that in the Rise of Goblins campaign it used monsters from my expansions. So far during the first quest in Kindrid Fire, it has used only monsters that came with the core set. Is this a coincidence or is something else going on? It did have a shop item from one of the expansions so I am hoping it was just a coincidence.
Some of the side quests use tiles from the expansions.
It is a coincidence that you didn't see any monsters from the expansions in the opening quest. I've played it a few times and once the only base game monster I saw was the Elemental.
Hello! Can a hero with 3 hp absorb all damage from the peril like "heroes must collectively suffer 10 damage"?
I can't point you to a direct rule, but usually I play these kinds of effects that you have to implement the effect to the fullest extent possible.
So no, you would not be able to do that the way I play it.
However, as with many coop / solitaire game systems I believe it's equally viable to bend a rule a bit to keep the game going. :-)
If I have expansions, will RTL use map tiles from them or can I just put them away in another box? So far is hasn't. Another thing I noticed was that in the Rise of Goblins campaign it used monsters from my expansions. So far during the first quest in Kindrid Fire, it has used only monsters that came with the core set. Is this a coincidence or is something else going on? It did have a shop item from one of the expansions so I am hoping it was just a coincidence.
To add to the previous answer: Each expansion you add to your Collection in RtL will unlock a specific Side Quest, that uses map tiles from that expansion. You can see which Side Quest is unlocked when you add the expansion to your Collection.
Kindred Fire is made to work even if you only have the base game. All quests from Kindred Fire itself (Story and Side) use only map tiles from the base game.
Monster groups are randomly generated much as Open groups can be chosen in the regular game. These groups are generated from the pool of Monster groups available to you, based on which expansions you have marked as Owned in RtL. Within that random selection, it's quite possible that Open group is a group from the base game. So yes, that was a coincidence.
How do I see what Side Quest was unlocked? I can't find that anywhere unless the app had a message when I unlocked it.
I'm not sure it actually tells you it was unlocked but if you go to the collection page and select an expansion the description will tell you which quest it has unlocked. After that I think you just have to trust that the app unlocked it and it is in the mix of random available side quests.
If a Monster has Bleeding condition do they try to get rid of that condition before activating the listed actions?
Bleeding: If a Bleeding monster cannot perform any action in the current activation and has at least 1 action remaining, it performs the special action to discard "Bleeding".
well i'll be **** - i clearly skipped page 14
thanks