Help for new GM

By JenBurdoo, in Only War

Hi. I'm a librarian thinking of running Only War (the teens expressed interest). I'm not really expecting it to turn into a campaign (a half-dozen sessions with luck), so am looking at running with just the starter rules from Eleven Hours, adding bits and pieces if interest increases. I ran a semi-successful DnD-style rules-lite fantasy campaign for them (all of them utter newbies at the time), and they're interested in trying a different genre. Well, one was thinking of a Pathfinder Fighter, but I reckon I can give him a Catachan with a knife and sword and that may work for him. Right now I have three players, but might end up with more once I display some 40K books in the teen area.

Here's the catch: The sessions will be one hour a week. One and a half at the outside. (I have zero leeway with my programming schedule.) Even with the starter rules, that may be pushing it. Thoughts on how to cut Only War to the bare bones? Or on chopping the Eleven Hours scenario into discrete one-hour pieces? I am thinking of using some other system (Tracy Hickman's XD20 worked very well for the fantasy game) but suspect they would prefer the greater crunchiness and choice of something more complex like OW with its nine stats, d100, skills and talents.

Thanks for any suggestions!

In terms of speeding up the rules as they exist, I'd suggest dropping weapon pen (and increasing damage in the case where there is a large pen on the weapon), flattening armour value and removing hit location (so you have the same armour all over and you don't have to stop to figure out hit locations). I'd also make a little chart of the PCs weapon damages and encourage rolling all the damage from an attack together. Drop critical injuries for NPCs and just describe enemy death as you like.