Master Ironsmith - bypasses attachment requirements?

By donkler, in Rules questions & answers

So I was looking at the new Master Ironsmith and I'm wondering if he might actually allow for some pretty wild stuff.

His ability is worded as such:

Response: After you play Master Ironsmith from your hand, if you paid all of its resource cost from a single hero's resource pool, attach a Weapon or Armor attachment from your hand or discard pile to that hero without paying its resource cost.

When you use his ability are you actually "playing" the attachment?

The FAQ states:

The “Attach to...” rules text on an attachment is only a play restriction, and is not taken into account after the card is already attached.

So is the attachment already attached by the time the restriction text would normally be taken into account? Does this mean that I could play something like Elven Spear or even Sword of Morthond on Tactics Boromir if he paid for the Ironsmith?

I believe you cannot bypass the "Attach to" rules, because the response on Master Ironsmith specifically says "attach".

Despite you not paying the resource cost for the Weapon or Armor attachment, you still have to verify if the "attach" conditions match.

So you cannot attach those two weapons you said to Tactics Boromir

This was brought up in another thread, and the consensus seems to be that you cannot get around any "attach to X" restrictions, but you could get around limitations that say something like "play only if you have a Noldor" like Lembas does. However, there currently isn't any weapon/armor with that type of restriction.

The part of the FAQ you quoted is for attaching something like Blood of Nemenor to a character with the Steward of Gondor attached, which grants them the necessary Gondor trait. If later, Steward is discarded, Blood of Numenor will stay there since the "attach to X" restriction is only required to be met at the moment it was attached.

Edited by Slothgodfather

and nothing else since I got burned by slothgodfather

eh?

I figured it probably wasn't the intent of the card to bypass the restrictions, but it just seems weird that it is worded differently from similar cards we have had in the past. Like Well-Equipped specifically uses the word "eligible", and ally Galadirel doesn't even say to attach, it just says to play the attachment.

and nothing else since I got burned by slothgodfather

eh?

Was replying with wall of text and saw "1 new message".... I got "meh" and erased everything apart from the links