Rules questions - mostly regarding Trade Action

By Runko, in General Discussion

1) When you trade items, do you GAIN them?

(I assume not, since it is not written in the rules)

2)

Investigator A has 2 Train tickets

Investigator B has 2 Ship tickets

they trade. Can they end up with 1 Ship and 1 Train ticket each ?

(I assume yes)

3) When you encounter a Defeated Investigator and "Gain all of his/her possesions", do the "When you gain this card..." effects trigger as long as it is not "When you gain this card from the deck"?

(I assume yes)

4)

Investigator A has Spell 1

Investigator B has Spell 1

They trade. Can they exchange their copies?

(I assume yes, since I assume trading is not gaining)

5) same as 4) but at least one of the Investigators has an Alter Fate spell

They trade. Can they exchange copies of Conditions they both posess?

(I assume yes, since I assume trading is not gaining)

6)

Investigator A has a Cursed Condition

Investigator B has a Blessed Condition and Alter Fate

They trade. Can any one of the Investigators end with both of them at the same time, since I assume trading is not gaining?

(I assume it is possible and the cards are discarded even though the cards were not gained)

7) same as 5)

They trade. Can they use Improvement Tokens to discard Impairment Tokens?

(I assume yes)

____

Please help :D

Edited by Runko

1) Whenever you give something to someone, they gain it. A shop keeper sells you a Mars bar, you gain it and eat it.

2) Yes

3)Yes

4(Yes

5,6 )Page 4 Reference guide under Conditions. Bullet point 2, Conditions cannot be traded.

7) Page 12 Trade Action, gives all the info you need. Plus you can't trade Focus tokens either .

Edited by bern1106

Runko is asking about interactions when an investigator has the Alter Fate glamour (which allows the trading of conditions, improvements, impairments and focus).

Now, my interpretation is that you can perform the trade in 5, and you can cancel out impairments in 7.

As for 6, I'm not sure. I would play it that the blessing and the curse cancel each other, like the improvement and the impairment, but I'm not 100% sure.

Ah, sorry, question wasn't clear for me.

I'd say yes to 5,6 and 7 in that case.

I treat Alter Fate as an extension of the initial Trade Action,

Infact I've had the experience with point 7, but gave all the bad stuff to an Investigator that was (probably) going to die (and did) on the next turn. He had two Improvement tokens on Lore and the better of the two had two Impairment tokens (ironically). Cruel to be kind. :rolleyes:

Edited by bern1106

1) When you trade items, do you GAIN them?

(I assume not, since it is not written in the rules)

2)

Investigator A has 2 Train tickets

Investigator B has 2 Ship tickets

they trade. Can they end up with 1 Ship and 1 Train ticket each ?

(I assume yes)

3) When you encounter a Defeated Investigator and "Gain all of his/her possesions", do the "When you gain this card..." effects trigger as long as it is not "When you gain this card from the deck"?

(I assume yes)

4)

Investigator A has Spell 1

Investigator B has Spell 1

They trade. Can they exchange their copies?

(I assume yes, since I assume trading is not gaining)

5) same as 4) but at least one of the Investigators has an Alter Fate spell

They trade. Can they exchange copies of Conditions they both posess?

(I assume yes, since I assume trading is not gaining)

6)

Investigator A has a Cursed Condition

Investigator B has a Blessed Condition and Alter Fate

They trade. Can any one of the Investigators end with both of them at the same time, since I assume trading is not gaining?

(I assume it is possible and the cards are discarded even though the cards were not gained)

7) same as 5)

They trade. Can they use Improvement Tokens to discard Impairment Tokens?

(I assume yes)

____

Please help :D

This may help.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1497859/alter-fate-questions

1) When you trade items, do you GAIN them?

I'm 99% positive that you do. Clarification pending.

No, you don't.

2)

Investigator A has 2 Train tickets

Investigator B has 2 Ship tickets

they trade. Can they end up with 1 Ship and 1 Train ticket each ?

Yes, they can.

3) When you encounter a Defeated Investigator and "Gain all of his/her possesions", do the "When you gain this card..." effects trigger as long as it is not "When you gain this card from the deck"?

Yes, they do.

I'm curious: Is there a card for which this is relevant?

4)

Investigator A has Spell 1

Investigator B has Spell 1

They trade. Can they exchange their copies?

Yes, they can.

5) same as 4) but at least one of the Investigators has an Alter Fate spell

They trade. Can they exchange copies of Conditions they both posess?

Yes, they can.

6)

Investigator A has a Cursed Condition

Investigator B has a Blessed Condition and Alter Fate

They trade. Can any one of the Investigators end with both of them at the same time?

I'm 99% positive that you can't. Clarification pending.

You can't but for different reasons than I thought.

7) same as 5)

They trade. Can they use Improvement Tokens to discard Impairment Tokens?

This question is a bit invalid. You don't "use" Improvement Tokens to discard Impairment Tokens.

The Alter Fate says you can trade these, so you simply trade.

And then, if your skill is both improved and impaired, the rules have it covered:

Improvement tokens and Impairment tokens negate one another.

If an investigator has both an Improvement token and an Impairment token for the same skill, he discards both tokens.

Edited by tsuma534

Sorry again, tsuma is right on question 6, you can't have a cursed condition and a blessed condition as it states clearly that one cancels the other out on the cards and I can't for the life of me think why you'd want to keep a cursed condition. You can exchange them though.

tsuma is right on question 6, you can't have a cursed condition and a blessed condition as it states clearly that one cancels the other out on the cards and I can't for the life of me think why you'd want to keep a cursed condition. You can exchange them though.

One cancel's the other when you gain it.

So question 6 entirely depends on question 1 - hence only 99% certainty.

And here we have the official answers:

1) When you trade items, do you GAIN them?

No.

Gain is a keyword with specific meaning as defined by the context of the effect that uses it. The rules for gaining possessions and Conditions can be found in the Reference Guide on page six. The Trade action does not use the keyword gain. Obtaining a component as part of a Trade action is not gaining that component.

6)

Investigator A has a Cursed Condition

Investigator B has a Blessed Condition and Alter Fate

They trade. Can any one of the Investigators end with both of them at the same time, since I assume trading is not gaining?

No.

If an investigator has both a Blessed Condition and a Cursed Condition, she will discard both Conditions, regardless of how she obtained those Conditions.

Edited by tsuma534

Thank you for posting this clarification.

I had a situation with the Asset, Sanctuary today.

A high-influence investigator gained Sanctuary, but wanted to hand it off to another investigator who was Cursed.

This cursed investigator did not have a confident Influence.

I almost played that Sanctuary could be gained by the first investigator and passed onto the Cursed investigator who could then be rid of the Cursed condition.

Instead, I had the Cursed investigator roll for the Asset, herself. Luckily the roll was successful.

Thank you for posting this clarification.

I had a situation with the Asset, Sanctuary today.

A high-influence investigator gained Sanctuary, but wanted to hand it off to another investigator who was Cursed.

This cursed investigator did not have a confident Influence.

I almost played that Sanctuary could be gained by the first investigator and passed onto the Cursed investigator who could then be rid of the Cursed condition.

Instead, I had the Cursed investigator roll for the Asset, herself. Luckily the roll was successful.

Sanctuary is a Service so it follows different rules and is activated immediately upon gaining the card. You can't ever trade service assets because there is no way to trade an asset that you haven't already gained. The only real question here would be if Charlie Kane could gain the service for another investigator. And that may be covered elsewhere.

Thank you for posting this clarification.

I had a situation with the Asset, Sanctuary today.

A high-influence investigator gained Sanctuary, but wanted to hand it off to another investigator who was Cursed.

This cursed investigator did not have a confident Influence.

I almost played that Sanctuary could be gained by the first investigator and passed onto the Cursed investigator who could then be rid of the Cursed condition.

Instead, I had the Cursed investigator roll for the Asset, herself. Luckily the roll was successful.

Sanctuary is a Service so it follows different rules and is activated immediately upon gaining the card. You can't ever trade service assets because there is no way to trade an asset that you haven't already gained. The only real question here would be if Charlie Kane could gain the service for another investigator. And that may be covered elsewhere.

Charlie Kane can absolutely do this. Charlie's ability allows other investigators to gain the assets he purchases, and services are used when they're gained by the person who gained them.

I'm not sure I understand your point. The provisions Unique Asset and the mechanics for acquiring them for Ithaqua's Supplying the North Mystery have nothing to do with purchasing Service assets from the reserve using Charlie Kane's ability.

To quote Nikki from FFG:

"Although the effect triggers from him performing the Acquire Assets action, he is gaining the Provisions from the Mystery card’s effect, not from the Acquire Assets action."