Need some Ideas for long term adventure

By GLV, in Rogue Trader Gamemasters

Hello,
My group & I have been playing Dark Heresy for the past year,(my players are rank 7/8)
and there was alwis an plot in the background

As I'm thinking of putting together an adventure for RogueTrade,
(A long term adventure rank 1-8)
I cant get my head around it,

The game reads to me like it is more player driven
- They make up a goal, they achieve there goal...and repeat
- I can see this working for the first 3 or 4 ranks,(Then I run the risk the players could get "bored")
- But usaly to keep the players interested they need a push, something to hold there interest

So today i'm asking,
what could that "Push" be? or maybe I have it all wrong?

Give me some ideas and maybe how i can drop it into the player driven goals

Thanks for your time & consideration

GLV

Hey GLV

Well, i am a rookie GM first of, i have only GMd around 2 or some campaigns so i am not the best person to ask, but here is my guess. I would prohaps make it something like what they did in Star Gate (didn't watch it but heard about it) in that they spent a whole season trying to find Atlantis and followed a paper trail until they got there, or maybe some thing like farscape. You could perhaps let the players say for example "i want to go to planet XXX and on the way they crash land you plot thread 1. I only got the rulebook this week so i need to read it (stupid exams) but from what i gathered, we are in uncharted territory, we can find what ever we like. So i hope that helps you

Ryorus

Hi GLV.

Here are some ideas for a 'push' in rogue trader game.

1) During one of the their endevours, another rouge trader interferes with pcs aims, and through his actions becomes a enemy of the pcs. This other rogue trader will often then clash with the pcs, becoming a long term nemisis.