Any advice for a new GM?

By Razkir, in Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay

Hello. I'm not new to gaming, but I'm new to being a GM. I'm hoping to get a campaign up and running some time in February. All I have right now is the Players Guide (the core and many other books are on the way), and I've been taking in all the information it contains. The group I'll be playing with consists of D&D veterans, and one total newbie, none of which are familiar with the Warhammer universe.

The one specific question I have is, what do you think is the best way to introduce players to the custom dice? Do you try to explain them and all of the various symbols before starting a game, or do you just go over them as they come up during the course of play?

And then just a general question of, any advice for running a game? One thing I've picked up on from reading the forums is that a lot of you like to make the Ironbreaker and Swordmaster advanced careers. Their starting equipment does seem pretty powerful for a basic career. Any other useful tips?

I became interested in 3E Warhammer last year and I recently decided to splurge and purchase 14 of the WFRP products available. So, I have a good amount of the material to work with when it all arrives in the mail! I really hope my friends like this game. :P

Edited by Razkir

That's pretty much my introduction to the Warhammer material, but I did have a few years of GMing under my belt when I started.

I think the best thing for any GM is before the game, sit down and talk to your players so that you all agree on the kind of game you want to run. The system seems good enough that you can have nothing but political intrigue and investigations, exciting chase and combat scenes, or surprisingly intense and dangerous combat depending on how much you use the henchman rules.