Weapon skills

By csroy, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

Hi all,

I am new to War Hammer 40K RPG and all (although I did kept tabs on DH), I've been reading RT and something pop to mind (actually several somethings but I will post them at the houserule section).

My question, and it maybe petty, is why there are no Weapon skills. True there are controlling abilities to hurting other people (Ballistic Skill and Weapon skill) and you get a Talent that tells you in what weapons you are trained to hurt other people but you can't improve your hurt other people skill only your ability. Opposed to that look at Fellowship which basically tells you how (and I quote the book here) " Fellowship is your ability to interact with other creatures, to deceive, charm and befriend them,". So if Ballistic skill measure you innate ability to hit things Fellowship measure your innate ability to interact with them. For Fellowship you get a skill like Charm that once mastered can give you a bonus to your basic innate ability but for guns... no such luck you either know how to use it or not.

Thoughts, answers, eternal scorn demonio.gif ?

Cheers,

Roy

It's fine the way it is. If you want to get better at hurting people and breaking things, buy the weapon training talents, the supporting talents (Marksman, Mighty Shot, Gunslinger,...) and the WS/BS advances and get some high quality weapons and accessoires.

It's easy enough to rule that the Weapon Training Talents are Skills instead. I did this in DH before the Universal groups appeared. For example, I had an Arbitrator with Basic Weapon (Bolt), Basic Weapon (SP) +10, and Basic Weapon (Las). If you do this, you have to decide what ranks the weapon skills fit in at, and I'd suggest NOT using the Universal grouping.

The original Warhammer Fantasy Battles game was a miniatures battle game. Every model was presumed skilled with the weapons it carried. It used the following charcteristics:
M WS BS S T I W A Ld Int Cl Wp
Move
Weapon Skill