Does the add one to a die roll effect work like if you have a bless a 3 would be a four etc or is that just for when rolling to see if you keep it for reckonings ie a 2 becomes a 3
Clarification on sister marys passive
As stated it works only when resolving reckonings for Boon/Blessed conditions: investigators on her space (as well as Sister Mary herself) can add 1 to the result on the die rolled to resolve the effect. (Can be applied multiple times).
Does the add one to a die roll effect work like if you have a bless a 3 would be a four etc or is that just for when rolling to see if you keep it for reckonings ie a 2 becomes a 3
It only works for the rolls that are requested by the Boon/Bane card. For Blessed and Cursed, that would only be the roll that checks whether you keep the condition. For Haunted, whether you flip it. If Haunted has some tests or rolls on the back, then it would work for those too.
Bit curious about this question. If your Blessed, the " effect " of that condition is that a 4, 5 & 6 is a success, so having Sister M on the same space makes a 3 a success as well?
Her passive says nothing about the Reckoning effect, although you could add the 1 to that die roll as well?
Anything official on this? ... Walts
Edited by Vala_MelkorShe adds 1 to each die rolled as part of a Blessing's effect. The static effect of a Blessing benefits your tests, but it doesn't require you to roll any dice itself. The only part of a Blessing that tells you to roll dice is its Reckoning effect. If flipping a Boon or Bane would require you to test something, you could also add 1 to the dice in that test. But the static effect of a Blessing isn't telling you to roll any dice.
This has been clarified on BGG where someone asked FFG. TL;DR the bonus only applies when rolling for what is written on a Boon/Bane, not during other encounters.
Thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1502388/sister-mary-rules-clarification
Relevant response:
Dropped FFG a Q on this as I was a bit confused myself, but as Eremita says, only what's on the BOON/BANE card ...
For instance, while resolving a Blessed Condition’s reckoning effect, Sister Mary would discard the Condition only on a roll of 1. On a roll of 2, which she modifies to a 3, the Blessed Condition is not discarded.
Any effect not printed on a Condition card that has the Bane or Boon trait is not affected by her passive ability.
Thanks for playing!
~ Nikki Valens
Fantasy Flight Games
If your Blessed, the " effect " of that condition is that a 4, 5 & 6 is a success
Yes, it is an effect but it doesn't require any die roll. As such, it's not affected.
so having Sister M on the same space makes a 3 a success as well?
When you're Blessed, the tests are successful on 4,5,6 as an effect of a Blessed condition. This doesn't make any of these tests also an effect of that condition. The condition doesn't asks you to make these rolls. The encounter cards, monster tokens, etc do that.
Her passive says nothing about the Reckoning effect, although you could add the 1 to that die roll as well?
You must add 1 to the die roll, it's not optional.
The ability isn't connected to the Reckoning in any way.
The Boons and Banes we know at this moment do ask for a roll during the Reckoning, but the future ones may ask for a roll at different time, for example when you perform a Travel Action. And such rolls would also be affected.
tl;dr:
If a Boon or Bane Condition asks you for a dice roll (or test, which is also a roll) then you add 1 to the result of each die. That's it.
If any other card asks you for a dice roll - it's that card's effect, even if the result is modified by your Boon or Bane. And Sister Mary doesn't add 1 to the result in this case.
Edited by tsuma534I do not think the recent faq clears it up. Since there are no existing test at the time people will confuse it with tests of other cards.