The Psyker Twins

By Wjohnson936, in Rogue Trader Gamemasters

I'm in search of information concerning the relations between Navigators and Astropaths.

In the midst of character creation for my newly established playgroup, two players quickly expressed interest in being twins. I decided to allow this provided they agreed on a homeworld and created the appropriate backstory. However, when choosing career paths, one became a Navigator and the other an Astropath Trancendent (neither of which were duplicates paths of the other players).

I've been approached by one of the two questioning the validity of their class choices while being twins. After some searching, I was unable to find anything about the relations between the two paths. I'd really appreciate the help of the community in finding (or improvising) some information.

While I'm no expert on navigators by any stretch, I don't think it's likely for them to be twins. navigators are incredibly selective about their breeding to make sure that they remain pure and the navigator gene breeds true. Now, it certainly wouldn't be IMPOSSIBLE, perhaps the gene takes in one, but not the other, but for one twin to be born without the navigator gene and then become a psyker is at least grounds for immediate excommunication if not outright execution. Someone would have needed to smuggle the psyker twin out of the family, and depending on how quickly the Twins' parents were able to deduce that one of them was a nascent psyker, it's a very real possibility that the navigator twin may never have known he (or she) had a sibling until encountering them on the rogue trader's vessel.