Double Agent Question

By alansa, in Cold War: CIA vs KGB (original edition)

When does the double agent use his ability to send an opponents agent on leave? Is it in the debriefing phase, or in the the planning phase of the next turn?

The text as written in the rules would suggest in the debriefing phase, but it would seem to me that it's much more sensible for it to be in the planning phase (the same phase that the Double Agent's ability to see the opponents Agent X first is executed)

Is the wording in the rule book just poorly written perhaps?

In the Debriefing phase.