Dominion technique questions

By LinkN, in Anima Rules Questions

I'm rather new to Anima, but I love the flexibility and options I have access to with the dominion technique system. However, a few things confuse me, and while I was able to answer some of them myself, I'd like some clarification...

First, my character's going to have a single strong yet expensive attack and a cheap defense boost as two of her techniques. I don't think I'll have enough accumulation to afford both techniques in the same turn without spending at least one turn accumulating ki, but from what I understand if I use a technique I lose all the ki I've accumulated back to my pool. Is there any way to start saving towards my attack but still use my defense, without having to go for a round accumulating without using the defense technique?

Second, I see I can make a technique that gives me both a defensive bonus and a bonus to a counterattack. However, as far as I can tell, I can also just make two different techniques, one for defense and one for counterattacking. Since doing the latter will mean not only can I defend without paying for the counterattack (either because I'm saving up ki or in case I don't get a high enough defense), but paying for both is cheaper since they can both use the cheaper primary cost, is there a reason to have both effects in the sam technique?

No, you cannot accumulate Ki for one technique while executing another. Once you spend Ki on a technique (or stop accumulating) all unused Ki is returned to your pool. You can however make your defensive technique maintainable. This makes it so that you can reactivate your technique each successive turn for a lower cost (the maintainence cost) and this cost is paid directly from your pool, without accumulating. You can accumulate Ki for a technique while maintaining another (or more than one). This however increases the MK cost of your technique as well as the initial Ki cost (it is increased by maintainence cost).