Where to start?

By DaBigPapaMonkey, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

Okay, so I am new to RPG's both as a player and as a GM. I own most of the rule books for Rogue Trader, Only War, Black Crusade, Dark Heresey(1st e) and Deathwatch. My family has finally agreed to entertain the idea of playing one of these games with me. I like to think that I have a decent amount of knowledge with the 4ok universe, but my family has none. I will have both male and females players. up to three players total. I was wondering if there is any suggestions as to which universe to introduce them into the 40k universe while also keeping it easy for all of us having no RPG experience. (I mostly collected the books for a personal collection point in hopes eventually I'd find someone to play with). Any suggestions or feedback is greatly appreciated.

I'd say Dark Heresy. The average Imperial citizen (and by extension, the average acolyte on recruitment) will have very little knowledge on how the Imperium works. They'll know of the Emperor, their rulers and the law. They'll know the abhour the mutant, hate the xeno, and to burn the witch (or at the very least see that they are captured and handed off to the Imperium). Beyond that the Imperial layman will know very little, and that's something you can use to your advantage. Put simply, they won't see the Necrons/Dark Eldar/Chaos Cultists/Whatever coming without some very good investigation on their end

The real trick with playing with people with little world lore, is not to be afraid to let them know what their characters know. "The robed man has a cog and skull icon hanging from his neck. You know this marks him as a member of the Adeptus Mechanicum, the secretive order of technicians and engineers."

or

"Today is Emperor's Day, a holy day to the pilos masses of the Imperium. You know everyone in the district will be attending at least one of the services at their local temple."

Hoi Papa!