A Collection of Random BatteLore Rule Quesions!

By sheripops, in Battlelore

Hello folks - I'm new to BattleLore... I've played about a dozen times and I still have a load of rule questions!

1. If a ranged unit is adjacent to an enemy unit is it able to move away or must it attack that unit?
  2. Battling Back – According to the instructions a unit may battle back if it is bold at the time of attack and has not vacated the current hex… Does this mean you can battle back a mounted unit when they are bonus melee attacking you even if their initial attack caused you to retreat?
  3. Can the giant spider gain ground?
  4. Playing on Vassal someone introduced me to the idea of units being bold 1-2-3 and so on. Nothing mentioned in the standard instructions. Are these commonly used rules? For example – a supported unit on a rampart on a hex adjacent to a stronghold could be bold-3… Does this mean it can ignore 3 flags?! Are supported dwarf units always bold-2?!

Thanks in advance... Yours confusedly, Guy

Ok, so post the questions and we'll try to answer them.

What is the point of posting us that you have questions without tellling us the questions? Oh, mabye that is the point. demonio.gif

Right... Let's try again!

If a ranged unit is adjacent to an enemy unit is it able to move away or must it attack that unit?

Battling Back – According to the instructions a unit may battle back if it is bold at the time of attack and has not vacated the current hex… Does this mean you can battle back a mounted unit when they are bonus melee attacking you even if their initial attack caused you to retreat?

Can the giant spider gain ground?

Playing on Vassal someone introduced me to the idea of units being bold 1-2-3 and so on. Nothing mentioned in the standard instructions. Are these commonly used rules? For example – a supported unit on a rampart on a hex adjacent to a stronghold could be bold-3… Does this mean it can ignore 3 flags?! Are supported dwarf units always bold-2?!