Best matchup Core Set?

By player881614, in Call of Cthulhu Deck Construction

Adding to the influx of post-Gencon topics...

Just bought the Core Set at Gencon and a handful of the Asylum packs, though I'm taking it slow and not mixing them in yet. Over the last two nights I've taught two new people to play and while doing so arranged human vs. monster matchups: Agency/Miskatonic vs. Cthulhu/Hastur. One important thing to note: I've been playing trading card games now for about 15 years off and on (started with Magic back in '94) and the people I taught were both veritably newbies at this sort of game.

Night 1 saw me playing the human deck vs. the monster deck. I was a little concerned about how to get past the terror checks but I did pretty well and took all three games we played.

Night 2 I played against a different friend and this time took the monster deck while giving him the human deck in case the shenanigans on night 1 were a case of the human deck being stronger. It didn't seem so - I won both games on night 2 as well, though the second was a tighter game until I pulled Hastur and Pull Under on the same turn and used that combination to kill my buddy's just-committed Gmen, wrecking his already thin character stack and pretty much ending the game. After those two games my buddy was convinced that the deck matchup we played is significantly unbalanced in the direction of the monsters. Being relatively new to the game myself (with 5 games under my belt) I don't feel like I know enough to say... but I did with games with both decks.

So the question is, for those in the know... how do you feel about the Agency/Miskatonic vs. Cthulhu/Hastur matchup just from the Core Set? Balanced enough to play? Would one human and one monster vs. the same be a better build so that one player doesn't have so much vulnerability to terror compared to the other? Any matchups you're familiar with that might be balanced better and/or fun, again just in the core set?