Identical Cards in the Same Deck

By Freedly, in Call of Cthulhu Deck Construction

I just purchased the LCG Core Set and would call myself a novice Call of Cthulhu player. I have some experience with a variety of older CCG's. My question is to some veteran Call of Cthulhu LCG players. I have been reading through the forums here and I am starting to wonder if I am going to have problems putting decks together if I don't have multiple copies of certain cards? Are multiple copies of the same card critical to deck building? I purchased the LCG Core Set for my interest in the theme and playing for fun as opposed to fierce competitive play. I think most of my enjoyment for the game will come from putting together decks with a theme and using no duplicate cards. I am sure I can do this successfully as I have done it with others games and I have supplied all the decks. However, will this plan mean that if I take such a deck out to play at any sort of public event I will be hopelessly outclassed and ground into oblivion as any opponent I play rides some uber card to victory?

Probably will lose to better decks, yes. If there weren't good reasons to put multiple copies of a card in a deck (higher consistency of receiving cards you want to use, repeated use of said cards, etc.) then they wouldn't do it in the first place, obviously.

Maybe you can find someone who wants to play Singleton somewhere, but as far as normal formats go, you probably want at least two core sets if you can swing it.

It's also much harder to play a mono faction deck without more copies of single cards, due to limited cardpool.