New GM looking for ideas of how to pitch DH

By Pertante, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

Hey so I am new to Dark Heresy and about to GM for the first time. The group that I plan to run for has plenty of experience with rpg's but not too familiar with the darkHeresay/WH40K world. Is there any places where I can give them a brief summary of what they should expect? Thanks

Well, 1d4chan has an accurate writeup about the 40k universe...

Well, I adjusted the basic 40k introduction slightly, and that worked nicely to get my players hooked on the setting. It's not a detailed account, of course, but just enough to give a glimpse of the setting and hopefully promoting an interest in exploring it more fully.

For more than a hundred centuries the Emperor has sat immobile on the Golden Throne of Earth. He is the master of Mankind by the will of the gods and master of a million worlds by the might of his inexhaustible armies.

To be a man in such times is to be one amongst untold billions. It is to live in the cruellest and most bloody regime imaginable. It is a dark and terrible era where you will find little comfort or hope.

This is the tale of those times.

If you want to take part in the adventure then prepare yourself now. Forget the power of technology, science and common humanity. Forget the promise of progress and understanding, for there is no peace among the stars, only an eternity of carnage and slaughter and the laughter of thirsting gods.

In the grim darkness of the far future, there is only war.