Crafting an Inquisitor

By Gaius Iago Urbanus, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

Greetings,

I am an utter newb. I've never GM'ed anything before, and I've barely played a few sessions (PnP) as a player. That said, I have followed roleplaying with interest for a long time now. I am about to start my own campaign of DH2 with several players (who are similarly inexperienced - but I'm actually glad for that!). I'm quite familiar with the WH40k setting, and have been on a GM-research kick for about a month. I'm just brimming with ideas (not a few of which came from these FFG boards where I have been lurking since DH2 was released).

I finally sat at the grindstone last night to start creating actual content when I hit a brick wall. How does one create their inquisitor in DH2? The section entitled "Crafting an Inquisitor" (pp. 354-6) has some neat backstory questions and ideas, but literally nothing about how to mechanically create the inquisitor. I know there are probably other scattered tidbits, like the bit about the Inquisitor's Influence such as the inset box (p.361) which mentions double the party starting Influence.

Should I not mechanically create the Inquisitor (as the GM Sheet would seem to suggest)? (As in no Characteristics, Background, etc.)

Should I roll an acolyte then award them enough XP to simulate their entire career prior to ascension?

I started trying to simulate an acolyte ascending, but was unsatisfied with how I was getting characteristics. So, I put it to the GM's here:

How do you (mechanically) create your Inquisitors?

Thanks,

Gaius

What do you plan on doing with your Inquisitor character that necessitates a full NPC statblock?

It really depends on on factor: Is your Inquisitor an active participate with this group? If yes, he'll need stats if nothing more than to know when he gets wounded in action. If not, leave it to a narrative device.