Rolleplaying The Night Lord

By Sevatar, in Black Crusade

Hey guys this is my first post here, I am also a BC noob. I was wondering if you guys could give me any tips on rolleplaying a Night Lord CSM I would like to devote my character to one of the gods but I'm not shure how should I do this since Night Lords arent particularly devout.

Should I stay unaligned are unaligned characters weaker than those that devote thgemself to one of the dark gods?

You could always have him go tzheench and be some sort of evil batman

Unaligned if you want to play him true. If he sways to the worship of a god, consider having him join another legion. This is often what devout Night Lords do. They are still the genes of the Night Haunter, but they jump ship elsewhere. True Night Lords don't even worship Undivided, let alone a single god however, and are only CSM by virtue of their treachery and general corrupt nature over actual piety.

As far as playing one, remember, Night Lords are the bad guys of bad guys. If you aren't scaring people and causing terror, you're doing it wrong. Consider impaling live enemies on spikes or creating still scenes with dead bodies and heavy metal wire (example: create a tea party scene by wiring a bunch of dead bodies around a table with cups in their hands in the middle of various gestures of revelry to be discovered by a foe). Night Lords love causing horror, and they should definitely be more of the Hannibal Lector in Silence of the Lambs type than some mindless Khorne Berserker.

As far as the math goes of if he would be weaker or not, it really depends on what you want. Look at how you would like to develop him, and see how much it would cost as unaligned vs devotion to a single god, and you'll have your answer.

So Victor Zsasz?

Ok thx for the tips guys these should help me allot.

the only other thing I would go with apart for Chaos batman wonderful idea and every night lord I made basically become him so I 2nd it