Constant Active Augury

By Wolfhellm, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

Hi there. This is my first time posting on these forums, since I couldn't find an answer anywhere else.

I'm GMing a Black Crusade campaign, where things went a bit out of hand and long story short, my players now have a hardly-working light cruiser at their command. They are a paranoid bunch, mostly because we've all played various RPGs for the past 10-15 years and have our fair share of experiances with ambushes, traps and evil GMs. To keep themselves from getting ambushed by hidden ships, they were thinking about constantly running active augury sweeps ... The thing is, this sounds fairly reasonable, but it would basically light them up like a forest fire in the night. My question is, are there any other negative effects of that? Any reason, that they couldn't run active scans? Or any reasonable counter-argument whatsoever?

They're practically broadcasting "We're here attack us", if their ship is in a bad shape an there more than one enemy in system. I'd say its a bad idea. What if an imperial patrol shows up half-dozen or so raiders vs. lame-duck cruiser :( better start praying what vile power they serve. If they run silent they might avoid combat entirely (time to evoke submarine combat feeling).

--At0miclich

They're practically broadcasting "We're here attack us", if their ship is in a bad shape an there more than one enemy in system. I'd say its a bad idea. What if an imperial patrol shows up half-dozen or so raiders vs. lame-duck cruiser :( better start praying what vile power they serve. If they run silent they might avoid combat entirely (time to evoke submarine combat feeling).

--At0miclich

Good enough, thanks. :)