How many enemies to throw at a new team without killing them

By thenewguy, in Dark Heresy Gamemasters

im new to GMing so im not to sure how many bad guys to throw at my players at the start.

to much and ill kill them all and to little its to easy for them.

What I've done in one of the first battles with my first group was splitting up the enemy in different groups. The players were infiltrating a clandestine little space port. In the hangar they found a first crew of gangers working on a guncutter and my players opened fire. This caused an alarm to go off and warned other gangers.

I had set certain amounts of time for every other group of gangers at the complex (the garage, the tower, the auspexarray), but you could easily wing it and make a new group of gangers burst out of the door when your players (almost) killed all of the gangers of the first group.

My players, more accustomed to fixed combat (one encounter) were surprised when a second group came through the door. They panicked a bit when a third group came in and they had to start reloading their guns, thus leaving room for the thugs to close the distance. They were really exasperated when the fourth and final group ran in, led by the ringleader with a savage chainsword. I almost screwed up since of the players went down after he catched a bad case of chainsword to the head, resulting in loss of sight and consciousness. Thanks the Emperor for faith points;

Although the gangers were nothing much to look at individually, even in group, they were a nice challenge as a whole. And the beauty of it is that you as a GM can stop the tap of gangers at any point during the encounter.

Edited by Librarian Astelan

Dark Heresy has a lethal system.

And the players should be aware that during a surprise round they can all be killed, equally they can kill them enemy in a surprise round.