Generally-accepted opening moves?

By mmychal, in A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (1st Edition)

I come from the metagame of a Diplomacy player where there is a philosophy of generally-acceptable initial moves for the game. Is there such a thing for A Game of Thrones? I've seen different opening move suggestions in the forums but with no comments. I'm fairly new to AGoT and trying to teach it to new players.

I'm most interested in opening moves and strategies for five-player games along with some reasoning behind them.

It's hard to say. Generally the Lannisters will move north in the Riverlands and the Starks will inch south but then it all falls to personal style (while sending a footman to castle black/the wall). The Tyrells and Baratheons might converge on Lannister to keep an early mustering from making them too powerful or the Tyrells will take the uncontested land. The Baratheons could send their fleet to attak the Starks or to keep Tyrell from making a navy on their side. The Greyjoys will generally want to destroy the Lannister fleet but they might also see more gain in keeping the Starks out of the water and take over the north.

In short, there's more either/or choices as opposed to a single excellent move.

I respectfully disagree.There were some impressive strategic posts on the old forums, and several moves which were regarded as standard first orders by most of the community then (of which I wasn't a part by the way).

Sadly interests since have moved more towards ASOS and away from these forums. I've haven't got any time this weekend to dig through my files for a quick rehash, but if you're patient I'll try to whip something up next week.

This strategy uses the Tyrell-Greyjoy king's Court fix (Greyjoy and Tyrell exchange position).