Lightsaber Damage Mitigation & Criticals

By Wulfherr, in Game Mechanics

Hi,

I'm pretty new to FFG Star Wars, and although I've been collecting the books from EotE Beta I haven't really played or run much, so my question/concern might be completely silly/unnecessary :)

I was wondering if the way Parry and Reflect work shouldn't somehow mitigate crits, especially considering the general crit probability/severity with a lightsaber (often 1 advantage with vicious quality).

Maybe I'm missing something, but I feel like even if you lose 1 or 2 wounds instead of 11-12, the critical effects will put you down and end any duel fast and with lasting (or more likely final) consequences.

Thanks!

First off, the stats for sabers have changed, so lower base damage and no more vicious or crit 1s unless you've done some modding.

Factor in that most enemies you'll be having an epic duel with will have multiple ranks in adversary, and probably some defenses too, and landing a crit will not be easy.

Even then, in my experience it still takes 3 or 4 crits before things get silly... If anything until you start losing body parts the crits actually work really really well as a way to represent fast dynamic duels that are dramatic without dragging on forever.

As Ghostofman noted, lightsabers now have a much more sensible stat block (Damage 6, Crit Rating 2, no ranks in Vicious), so with enough ranks of Parry, it could be possible to soak enough damage from a lightsaber strike that the target suffers no damage, and thus no critical injury.

Granted, it'd take quite a while to be able to get that many ranks, unless you're a Shii-Cho Knight (4 ranks of Parry for a total damage mitigation of 6) or Makashi Duelist (5 ranks of Parry for a damage mitigation of 7), in which case you'd just need to jump over into Soresu Defender to grab the two Row 1 instances of Parry for a +2 bump to Parry's damage mitigation.