Let's make Arkham Horror look even cooler

By Perkele, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Hi all, in this thread I'll be showing the process of my Arkham Horror project. A friend of mine has Arkham Horror and all of its expansions, and we have played the game a lot and we still haven't had enough of it. I'm very much into other mythos games (like Elder Sign and my favorite, Mansions of Madness) and especially the novels, so naturally it was only the matter of time when I got my own Arkham Horror.

Tuning board games has lately started to being my thing. I'm a miniature painter, but I think other aspects of board games have the same right to be loved as well. That's what this thread is about, I'm going to do my best to make the Arkham Horror look as badass as I possibly could. Since the picture limit, I'll be doing this in a blog style, updating when I get something done.

Hope you like following the tuning process and don't forget to comment if you have criticism, ideas or tips to share. :)

-Perkele

1. Painting of the markers

Like many other board games, I like to paint the edges of the markers black because it looks just so much better in my opinion than the boring old cardboard colour. After all markers are done, I'll varnish them so the paint won't fall off.

The 24 character markers. First some background of my future plans. I've ordered myself Arkham Horror investigator figures from FFG, so I'll be using these markers in my games rarely. Since Mansions of Madness and Elder Sign use the same characters as Arkham Horror, my plan is to keep all 48 investigators in a big bag. When we go and play one of these mythos games, I'll just take the bag with the game so there will always be the character models for the game and I won't need to buy duplicates of them. If for some reason we can't use the Arkham Horror models, we can just use the markers instead. I painted their edges black and glued them on the plastic stands.

SAM_7398_zpsc61981c0.jpg