Beasts in the Expanse?

By Ranga, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

I recently started playing a Beastmaster character in my weekly game of RT. I came in at Rank 3 and had a Razorwing companion that got blown up this session.

At the end of the session I rolled to acquire a Burnscour Wyrm (aka Killian's Bane) found in the Koronus Bestiary. (we were in orbit of a Noble World, I figured they might have one in a zoo or fighting pit or someone crazy might be keeping one as a pet.

The GM was of the opinion that the listed stats were for the eponymous Bane rather than an average creature of it's type. That doesn't sound like good game design to me. If someone could tell me whether the stats listed were for average Burnscour Wyrms or just Killian's Bane itself I'd appreciate it.

Also, if the listed stats are for a specific Bane, what adjustments need to be made for an average one of its type?

I think it's fairly obvious that it's supposed to be the stats of an average creature.

Out of curiousity, how are you planning on hauling your pet around? It's big .

To add to what Iku Rex is saying, your GM is the final arbitrator when it comes to implementing anything into the game. Every GM has their reasons as to why something should, and shouldn't, be added. I'm not saying we are always right, I'm just saying let the ref make the call, but be civil about any disagreements that come about after it.

Other than that, I agree with Iku Rex that the stats are for an average, full grown adult, Burnscour Wyrm. If he wants to give you baby one that can be more easily trained, then that's not a bad gig either.