Deck types

By Sluggo1313, in Star Wars: The Card Game - Strategy

I'm fairly new to the Star Wars LCG, though I've been playing other games (L5R and Magic) for a while. I'm just wondering what the enviroment for the game looks like right now and what play deck types/styles work for each of the factions. I always find this the hardest part about starting a new game - just figuring out what to do with the cards.

I can give very general intros to the style of each affiliation, if that helps.

Navy: Aggressive, lots of resource ramping into big vehicles and units. Think red and green from Magic.

Sith: Card drawing and board control. Good defensive cards. Black and blue.

Scum: Capturing effects, tactics icons. Mostly defensive at this point, but some heavy hitters.

Jedi: Protecting and enhancing big units. Some good countering and damage redirection. Like white and green.

Rebel: Tactical and combo-oriented, with weenie rush. Kind of like white and red.

Smugglers and Spies: Pretty broken right now. Excellent combat tricks and rule-bending in general.

Thanks.

The smugglers and spies thing sounds interesting. What objective sets generally go into that deck, how is it tricky, what does it try to do?

Smugglers and Spies can do a lot of crazy things.

Han Solo deals one damage to any enemy unit when it enters an engagement (battle)

Echo Caverns allows you to steal a combat icon of your choice from any unit (friendly or enemy) and put it on one of your units.

Lando Can spend a resource to pull one of your guys out of an engagement, allowing you to bluff an attack with a strong guy.

You can return the Millennium Falcon to your hand to put a unit in your hand into play for free.

When Lobot is in an engagement, he makes all combat icons for all participating units edge-enabled.